Professional Pilots Racing Moto

3/8/2019 1:57pm Edited Date/Time 3/15/2019 9:16am
Are there any guys on here that fly for a living? I recently finished my instrument rating and should have my commercial rating by the end of summer. I’m getting to the point where I don’t want to keep racing in fear of getting a head injury and loosing my medical. I’m curious to hear if there are any guys that have been flying for a while and still feel like dirt bikes are worth the risk.
|
zehn
3/8/2019 2:06pm
Funny, my dad always wanted to be a pilot but he thought that the tendencies that racers typically have (risk takers, adrenaline junkies, etc.) are the kind of tendencies that get you killed as a pilot.

Sorry I've got nothing constructive to add
cameron96
3/8/2019 2:09pm
I have a 172xp if that counts

I think Barcia has a 182 he flies. He has his Private as well
home skillet
3/8/2019 2:11pm
I used to fly for a living and ride dirt bikes, but I don't do either anymore. I'm self employed and just can't afford the risk anymore with the way Healthcare is in this country. When I used to live overseas I never gave it a 2nd thought, just can't risk my family's future and my own.
alien
3/8/2019 3:32pm
I know of two airline pilots that race. A Delta pilot with 28 years service and an Endeavor pilot with about the same time. Both approaching mandatory retirement but still love moto.

The Shop

3/8/2019 3:47pm
I'm not current anymore but I have the same medical as an Air Traffic Controller. I think about the possibilities so I buy the best protective gear I can. I could quit but I know I wouldn't be happy so I try to minimise risk as much as I can and just live my life.
CMcBain
3/8/2019 4:16pm