Power Commander V

Jack_Wagon
6/13/2016 8:34am
Does anyone have any experience with one on a mx bike? Every engine builder i talk to pushes either Vortex or GET, yet very few have the software to program either of them. The Power Commander's ease of use seems like it would make it the product of choice, but I've never heard of anyone using them. Am I missing something?
|
Charper732
6/13/2016 11:05am
I have been preaching this for the longest... A PCV has both fuel and ignition maps for a single cylinder in one unit, plus the ability to control secondary injectors. All that for Much less than a vortex ignition. I have zero experience tuning with a vortex or GET, but I can tell you tuning a PCV on a dyno can be a bit involved but it has quite a bit of different parameters you can adjust at very small RPM increments. Either way, any unit you choose will only be as good as the tuner that is tuning it. If you put up the money for the unit, do it right and get a custom made map.... It's worth it.
11/3/2017 3:13pm
Jack_Wagon wrote:
Does anyone have any experience with one on a mx bike? Every engine builder i talk to pushes either Vortex or GET, yet very few have...
Does anyone have any experience with one on a mx bike? Every engine builder i talk to pushes either Vortex or GET, yet very few have the software to program either of them. The Power Commander's ease of use seems like it would make it the product of choice, but I've never heard of anyone using them. Am I missing something?
How did you go,did you end up getting one? I was looking at vortex and get then came across these. Can anyone tell me why these are not as good or better then a vortex or get?

Also looking at converting my bike to run on methanol, power commander is the only unit capable of allowing the amount of fuel required.
skypig
11/4/2017 12:28am
The PCV is a piggyback unit. Goes between the ECU and injectors/coils. Set to 0, everything passes straight through.