Any EX Fatties owe MX for their health? Updated

stangkag
Edited Date/Time 7/3/2015 1:58pm
I have been riding dirt scooters since I was 5 1/2 years old (1986 Suzuki DS80) and grew up in Oceanside, CA where bikes and tracks are plentiful but never had parents that would let me race and see if there was ever any potential. Like every kid growing up into this sport I wanted to be the next McGrath however injury after injury occured from either MX or football. I started packing on "a pudge" which turned into a full on fat kid by the time I was 15. I have struggled with my weight since I was 15 basically and I always got looked at funny when Id go to a track and start hitting the bigger stuff. Guys would come up and be shocked that a 260-300 lb guy is out there givin it hell. Granted I couldnt race because id be winded after 3-4 laps and have to pull off the track after running that pace.

Anyways Ive babbled enough for you to get a feel for my background, I hate the fact that I ever let myself get overweight. Moto is known for being a MANS sport and one of the top #3 physically demanding sports in the world so I have been thinking...Other than riding myself into shape, what are some of the best excercises to do to lose weight? Last year when I was staying at Barcias I rode his spin bikes and loved them so I bought a spin bike last week and love it so far but dont see me dropping all this weight simply from riding only that. Last year I was 374 lbs and now im 278. Still wanting to lose another 75 lbs or so.

So my question is... Has anyone on Vital been obese and then been able to drop the weight thanks to something moto related? I know Weston Peick and Mike Jones are bigger guys but not fat by any means. All you old timers know of any guys back in the day that were heavy?

How much does being over weight affect guys horsepower wise and suspension wise? Ive always stuggled setting up my suspension. I know Knight was also a bigger rider.