Newbie has a starting problem

old man 125
Edited Date/Time 6/16/2020 12:32pm

I am a newbie to the forum and to being in the dirt again after riding Harleys since the 80's. I have a 1997 CR125 Honda that has a 134cc big bore kit. Bought it last week, watched the PO start it and watched him ride around on it. I rode it and am comfortable with it but since I got it home, I can't start it. The PO says if it is flooded, the exhaust pipe gets fuel in it and that may be the problem. What is the normal start up procedure? No throttle, full choke, fuel off, then kick, then turn fuel on, kick again. Everything i've tried doesn't work. New plug (it does have spark), changed the gas. Very frustrating. Seems to have fuel coming out the exhaust manifold, so I'm taking the exhaust off today. Any other suggestions?
|
mxgreg85
6/15/2020 8:56am Edited Date/Time 6/15/2020 12:43pm
Try turning the fuel off, then lean the bike over at an angle until you see fuel draining out of the hoses. It will take around ten seconds for all of the fuel below the fuel switch to drain out. Kick it a few times to push anything out of the top. Then turn the fuel back on and go through your procedure. It sounds like the float height in the carb might be off, look up instructional videos on setting that. The float itself may have a crack or hole, preventing it from floating.
old man 125
6/15/2020 11:33am
Thanks, I'll give it a try. The PO has been on email with me and he's trying to help too. I brought it home on a trailer and it got bounced around due to the construction in my area, but it never fell over. Does it matter what side I lay it down on? The PO suggested I remove the exhaust as it may have fuel in it from the flooding.
mxgreg85
6/15/2020 12:04pm