Wind Energy Careers

luke99
Edited Date/Time 4/16/2014 10:44pm
Hi all,
Just wondering if anyone here works within the wind energy sector in America preferably california.
It's my dream to make the trip across the pond and I have been looking for work, however I understand it's usually more who you know rather than what you know, especially when your in my position of living across the Atlantic.
If anyone has any connections, info or tips it would be massively appreciated.
I'm currently a well established project manager for a well respected wind turbine services company based here in the UK.

Thanks in advance.
|
enketchum
4/12/2014 2:19pm
Stay there, the wind business here in California is ripe with corruption
luke99
4/12/2014 4:17pm
Really how??
Brown packages to government officials or inter corruption between asset managers and OEMs?
enketchum
4/12/2014 8:17pm
Interagency corruption and with Chinese manufacturers. Look up what just happened with the Nevada BLM and the cattle rancher. That was based around taking over the public land for sustainable energy.
rallendude
4/13/2014 7:31am
Not only that but it won't last long. The inefficiency of wind energy is starting to catch up with it.

The Shop

luke99
4/13/2014 7:36am
So long as people keep making a tidy profit from owning wind farms they will still be around. I don't see that changing anytime soon.
enketchum
4/13/2014 9:38am
They only making profits here because of government subsidies. Wind electricity in California costs more than natural gas electricity and people don't want it coming to their homes.
XXVoid MainXX
4/13/2014 10:22am
You need to get hold of twrizzle. I don't know where he hangs out these days but he installs those giant wind turbines. He started in California and then worked in various places in the Midwest and I'm not sure where he is now.
luke99
4/14/2014 2:10am
Thanks void main, any idea how I can dm him on this website? I can't find a post if his anywhere.
Cheers
Boxvan446