We moved past the halfway point of the 2012 Monster Energy Supercross season in St. Louis, and Ryan Villopoto and Justin Barcia both scored wins in their respective classes, and both continue to lead their classes.

Davi Millsaps (Toyota/JGRMX/Yamaha) scored the $1,500 Nuclear Cowboyz holeshot check, as he rounded the first turn out front, and flanked closely by Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki), Justin Brayton (Team Honda Muscle Milk), and Kevin Windham (GEICO Honda). Other series contenders included Ryan Dungey (Red Bull/KTM) in fifth, and James Stewart (Toyota/JGRMX/Yamaha) was back a ways, but things got worse when he went down on the first lap, dropping all the way to the tail end of the field.

After two laps Ryan Villopoto moved out front by himself, and the top three remained the same until lap nine, when Brayton got by Millsaps for second spot. It stayed that way for five more laps, until Dungey moved by Brayton into second spot. Dungey closed up on Villopoto at the end, but had to settle for second...not bad, considering he'd had a bad crash while training at home last week.

Kevin Windham (GEICO Honda) finished fourth, and James Stewart clawed his way back to fifth. He'd been on the gas and had made great progress...until he caught his teammate and seemed to get stuck there before getting by with three laps to go. The rest of the top ten included Millsaps (6th), Jake Weimer (Monster Energy Kawasaki), Brett Metcalfe (Team Yoshimura Suzuki Racing), Marvin Musquin (on a 350cc Red Bull/KTM), and Nick Wey, who'd taken the win in the LCQ to make it into the main event.

With his fifth main event win of the year, Ryan Villopoto now has a 13-point lead over Ryan Dungey, and a 53-point lead over James Stewart, who now resides in third.

Before the start of the night's racing, Kevin Windham was presented with a cool momento to commemorate his 200 main event starts in the 450 class. He still has 27 to go to pass Mike LaRocco for the all-time lead in the category.

Davi Millsaps nailed the holeshot in the Supercross main event.

Ryan Dungey ended up in second spot, and was closing on Ryan Villopoto at the end.

Davi Millsaps held off Justin Brayton until just before halfway.

James Stewart had to work his way through the entire pack for a fifth-place finish after a first lap crash.

Ryan Villopoto ran much of the main by himself while out front.

Ryan Villopoto scored his fifth win of the season, and shared the podium with Ryan Dungey and Justin Brayton.

Justin Barcia (GEICO Honda) has been the dominant force in the Lites East series so far, winning both of the previous rounds, and after St. Louis, he's three for three. He lead from the start, and every lap of the 15-lap main event. Behind him, Ken Roczen (Red Bull/KTM) and Justin Bogle (GEICO Honda) were in close contact for the bulk of the main, but on the last lap, Justin came up short on a double and went down. While rushing to remount, Bogle fell over again, and lost two spots, ending up fifth. The beneficiary of his mistakes were Blake Wharton (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) and Darryn Durham (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), who picked up third and fourth, repectively. Bogle ended up fifth.

The rest of the top ten was rounded out by Jake Canada (MotoConcepts), Malcolm Stewart (JDR/J-Star/KTM), Kyle Cunningham (Star-Valli Rockstar Yamaha), Blake Baggett (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), and Alex Martin (Eleven10 Mods).

With his third straight win, Barcia now leads the Lites East title chase by 18 points over Roczen.
Next up, the series will head back outdoors (and to Bike Week in Florida), to Daytona International Speedway and the Daytona Supercross by Honda. Be sure to check with Vital MX for full coverage.

Justin Barcia grabbed the holeshot and lead every lap of the Supercross Lites main. Check the close contact between Blake Wharton and Justin Bogle.

Justin Bogle glot close, but couldn't get by Ken Roczen.

Justin Barcia, Ken Roczen, and Blake Wharton made up the Supercross Lites podium.

2012 Monster Energy AMA Supercross
St. Louis, MO

Supercross Lites Heat 1
1. Justin Barcia
2. Darryn Durham
3. Blake Baggett
4. Phil Nicoletti
5. PJ Larsen
6. Austin Politelli
7. Malcolm Stewart
8. AJ Catanzaro
9. Bradley Ripple

Supercross Lites Heat 2
1. Blake Wharton
2. Justin Bogle
3. Jake Canada
4. Ken Roczen
5. Alex Martin
6. Matt Lemoine
7. Kyle Cunningham
8. Jeff Gibson
9. Cole Thompson

Supercross Heat 1
1. James Stewart
2. Cole Seely
3. Ryan Dungey
4. Brett Metcalfe
5. Broc Tickle
6. Marvin Musquin
7. Jimmy Albertson
8. Matt Goerke
9. Kyle Chisholm

Supercross Heat 2
1. Ryan Villopoto
2. Justin Brayton
3. Jake Weimer
4. Davi Millsaps
5. Kevin Windham
6. Mike Alessi
7. Josh Hansen
8. Robert Kiniry
9. Justin Sipes

Supercross Lites LCQ
1. Hunter Hewitt
2. Tyler Bowers

Supercross LCQ
1. Nick Wey
2. Gavin Faith

Supercross Lites Main Event
1. Justin Barcia (Honda)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Blake Wharton (Suzuki)
4. Darryn Durham (Kawasaki)
5. Justin Bogle (Honda)
6. Jake Canada (Honda)
7. Malcolm Stewart (KTM)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha)
9. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki)
10. Alex Martin (Honda)
11. Matt Lemoine (Kawasaki)
12. Hunter Hewitt (Suzuki)
13. Cole Thompson (Honda)
14. AJ Catanzaro (KTM)
15. Jeff Gibson (Honda)
16. Austin Politelli (Honda)
17. PJ Larsen (KTM)
18. Bradley Ripple (Honda)
19. Phil Nicoletti (Honda)
20. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)

Supercross Main Event
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Justin Brayton (Honda)
4. Kevin Windham (Honda)
5. James Stewart (Yamaha)
6. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha)
7. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
8. Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki)
9. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
10. Nick Wey (Kawasaki)
11. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki)
12. Matt Goerke (Suzuki)
13. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
14. Robert Kiniry (Yamaha)
15. Justin Sipes (Kawasaki)
16. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki)
17. Gavin Faith (Honda)
18. Jimmy Albertson (Suzuki)
19. Cole Seely (Honda)
20. Josh Hansen (Kawasaki)

Supercross Lites East Point Standings
1. Justin Barcia 75
2. Ken Roczen 57
3. Darryn Durham 56
4. Blake Wharton 56
5. Justin Bogle 43
6. Jake Canada 41
7. Blake Baggett 40
8. Hunter Hewitt 31
9. Malcolm Stewart 29
10. Kyle Cunningham 28

Supercross Point Standings
1. Ryan Villopoto 205
2. Ryan Dungey 192
3. James Stewart 152
4. Chad Reed 128
5. Kevin Windham 123
6. Jake Weimer 120
7. Justin Brayton 116
8. Brett Metcalfe 113
9. Davi Millsaps 109
10. Mike Alessi 98

Create New Tag
1 comment
Show More Comment(s) / Leave a Comment