Plastic Models

Anonymous (not verified)
Anyone else here into building plastic scale models? I no longer am, but went through a phase there for a bit where I was building them. One particular paint scheme just wore me out, and I have not been back since. I still have some on the shelf waiting to be built, but I just can't get into it. Perhaps when I retire next year. Also, I figured out after I started riding again - 4 years ago now - that every hobby I got into was merely a filler for my loss of motocross and riding. Here's a few I built along with some explanations. Finally, if you have any, please post them up. I'm OK at it, but there are guys that are REALLY good. Look up my friend Floyd Werner, for example. He has DVDs out that give tips and tricks. The more advanced techniques I learned, came from him.

The below is an FW-190 based on a real aircraft that was shot down by a B-17 over Hungary. This kit was super detailed, and came with an actual piece of metal from the aircraft. It was dug about 15 years ago.

The next aircraft is a P-47 Thunderbolt flown by Francis "Gabby" Gabreski of the 56th Fighter Group. He was America's leading ace in the European Theater. He crashed himself while strafing a German base. He flew so low, he actually hit the ground with his prop. The paint job on this aircraft is what finished me. I was so stressed out about getting it just right, that I found I wasn't having fun anymore.

For you modern jet lovers, here is a Super Hornet. This was a cheap kit my wife got me. It came out pretty well, but most pieces did not fit very well.

I got some more, but that's all I have time to post up right now. If you have them - don't be afraid to show them!

|
MR. X
6/16/2016 10:10am
I did as a kid ,nothing as good as those. I had a little oven around a light bulb made from tin foil to dry things faster because I'm inpatient and end up turning a hemi into a blob.
newmann
6/16/2016 10:11am
Attention to detail is amazing. Love it!
dsmith
Fantasy