Latest Product Reviews

RSS

MXGP 3 - Video Game

Vital Review

“Tested: MXGP 3 - The Video Game”

C138_ss_8334c387e7ff06b774780ef430642476089849cc.1920x1080
Hey! A new motocross video game is out! They don't come around all that often, so we tend to get pretty excited when one gets released. This time, it's MXGP 3 from Milestone. As you might have guessed, the "3" means that this is the third entry in the MXGP series. The two that came before this one were good indicators that Milestone has the potential to make a great motocross game, but they were not the best. So, is the third one the chosen one? Is it the ultimate motocross video game? Unfortunately, no, MXGP 3 is not perfect. But there is some good news: it's the best MXGP game yet. Read on as we go in-depth with all of Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member GD2
43126 GD2 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/43126/avatar/c50_GD2_Logo_1496892656.jpg?1496891942 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/GD2,43126/all 05/10/14 55 10 232 376 318 4447 45 3

Rocket Exhaust 2017 CRF450R Stainless/Aluminum System

Vital Review

“First Impressions: Rocket Exhaust - 2017 CRF450R Full System”

C138_rocketpipe
No matter how you swing it, every time Honda drops a new bike it's a big deal. And in the case of their latest 450, it's one sought after machine. Now the downside, as with any all new model bike, is the lack of aftermarket parts available at launch...but now that the latest CRF has been around for a bit, we have some new toys to play with. We caught up with Rocket Exhaust's Don Leib recently at Cahuilla Creek and had the chance to test out his final production pipe for the new bike. While not a full-durability test, it was a chance to figure out what it does Features: Head Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 371 46 1926 542 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 308 7331 1 465 78 25

2017 KTM 250 SX-F Factory Edition

Vital Review

“First Impressions: 2017 KTM 250 SX-F Factory Edition”

C138_ktmfephot
While at first the KTM Factory Editions seemed like an odd idea, year-after-year they continue to sell them and we continue to see them at the track. With this, naturally the 250 SX-F joined the fray a few years ago and now is modeled after the Troy Lee Designs KTM team. This year the bike features the usual orange frame, clamps, and sprockets...along with the team graphics kit and all-orange plastic that we usually see on this bike. Beyond that is some new suspension settings from the 17 production bike, front and rear, along with some hard parts updates in the fork. The overall goal was to make the bike more Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 371 46 1926 542 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 308 7331 1 465 78 25

2016 Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin

Vital Review

“Tested: Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin”

C138_atphoto
For the majority of our thoughts, plus a look at the machine in action, click play on the video above. Yes, a large adventure bike is something we don't see much of on Vital MX, but in the case of the Africa Twin it was a must test! Okay, well, it was a personal "must test" but it was completely worth it. For years, I personally laughed at the thought of riding a large adventure bike...initially finding them to be a bit pointless. Sort of like large street bikes meant for the dirt, but without basically any dirt prowess, while taking away a ton of that initial streetability. Now in the past few years this has definitely changed Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 371 46 1926 542 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 308 7331 1 465 78 25

Yoshimura RS-9T Titanium/Carbon Full System

Vital Review

“Tested: Yoshimura RS-9T Titanium/Carbon Full System - 2017 Honda CRF450R”

C138_offroad_rs9t_ti_l
One thing was certain when it came to the 2017 450s, Honda's latest CRF450R has made the largest gains of them all. Although it didn't win our Vital MX 450 Shootout, it received high marks from all of our test riders and similar praise from other media outlets. One of the biggest points of improvement was the engine, and while it was a huge step in the right direction, there were some still looking for a bit more. With a bike being this radically new, performance parts are harder to come by...but Yoshimura being the supplier of HRC in Japan, Europe, and the U.S. had a bit of headstart. Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 371 46 1926 542 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 308 7331 1 465 78 25

Dragon NFX2 Goggles

Vital Review

“Tested: Dragon NFX2 Goggles”

C138_dragongoggles
I’ve always been pretty particular about which goggles I use, ever since I first saw McGrath rockin’ his rad signature series back in the day. Since then, I’ve had experience riding with everything from the old affordable Spy Targas, to some of the high-end Transformer-looking setups from the likes of Scott, Oakley, and 100%. When it comes to goggles, their price and quality definitely seem to go hand in hand. While my $30 basic Targas got the job done, it’s the small details that really set the high-end goggle apart. In this case, the Dragon NFX2’s are a great example of a company looking to produce the best Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member kawi008
26158 kawi008 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/26158/avatar/c50_DSC_0085_1482821248.jpg?1482820616 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/kawi008,26158/all 02/17/11 4 5 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/kawi008,26158/setup 78 579 103 10 2

Gaerne GAERNE SG 12 BOOTS

“Good boot.”

C138_gb8_s12_is

The Good:

Very comfortable, supportive and look great.

The Bad:

Steel toe sole.

Overall Review: Overall this is a great boot. I had a two pairs of Tech10s prior to buying the SG12. The only complaint I have coming off of the molded sole Tech 10 is the steel toe tip gets caught on my shifter in certain riding positions making it kind of awkward at times. I am learning what position is causing me to this and fixing it on my end. All in all great boot so far and I do recommend them.  
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member mx510
26288 mx510 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/26288/avatar/c50_image_1424970850.jpg?1424970494 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/mx510,26288/all 02/26/11 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/mx510,26288/setup 29 1380 14 2

2017 Suzuki RM-Z250

Vital Review

“First Impressions: 2017 Suzuki RM-Z250”

C138_s1600_rm_z250_yel_blk_l7_p
More Motocross Videos After a host of upgrades in 2016 (including engine updates, new suspension components, and a new frame), Suzuki's RM-Z250 has remained mostly the same for outside of some cosmetic changes for 2017. Based on our shootout opinions from last season, we already know the weak point of the small-bore four stroke Suzuki is centered around the overall output of the engine. But in usual Suzuki style, the handling characteristics are top-level and keep some positive light over the machine. Check out some opinions from our test rider, Chris See, as he spins some laps out at the famous Glen Helen Raceway.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 371 46 1926 542 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 308 7331 1 465 78 25

2017 Honda CRF250R

“2017 CRF250R”

C138_s1200_250r

The Good:

the motor is great and so is the frame geometry

The Bad:

The air forks are really stiff

Overall Review: great bike overall it is ready to rip and fly around the tracks

2017 KTM 250 SX-F

Vital Review

“First Impressions: 2017 KTM 250 SX-F”

C138_s1600_ktm2017_3_of_31
With both a Factory Edition and standard production model every year, we end up spending quite a bit of time aboard the KTM 250 SX-F. Even with this, KTM still finds a few things to change with each model, constantly improving the reliability and overall ride-ability of the bike. For the 2017 production model, KTM had a few upgrades for their freshly introduced AER 48 fork. Changing the valving, along with the outer fork tubes, and damping cartridge; creating better feel, different flex characteristics, and even loosing a bit of weight in the process. To match up with the new tubing, the 250 SX-F also has a different set of triple Read More »
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 371 46 1926 542 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 308 7331 1 465 78 25