--Next up, Spring Creek MX Park in Millville, MN, Aug. 13, 2006--

Round 8 – AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Series 
Washougal, WA
 Washougal MX Park
 July 30, 2006

Team Makita Suzuki Racing’s Ricky Carmichael finished a strong second place at round eight of the AMA Toyota Motocross race at Washougal MX Park, in Washougal, WA, on Sunday afternoon. The defending AMA Motocross Champion won his first 30-minute Motocross-class moto and finished a close second in the second moto to take second-place overall.

Ricky Carmichael:
“That first moto was worth the price of admission. The second moto, well it was good for the fans but I made some mistakes, so I’m just disappointed in myself. But life goes on and we’ll look to the next race.”

In the Motocross Lites class, Team Makita Suzuki Racing’s Broc Hepler overcame a bad start in the first 30-minute moto to finish an impressive fourth place on his Makita Suzuki RM-Z250. In the second Lites moto, unfortunately, Hepler went down on the first lap and was unable to finish the race.

Broc Hepler:
“I just didn’t get a perfect jump off the start in the second moto. Then, someone came in under me in the first corner and we just piled up. My bike got caught up with his and it ripped a wire and the bike wouldn’t start. Nobody did anything wrong, it was just damage from the wreckage. Now, I’ll just use the time off and get back to my regular practice schedule. My speed is coming along and I don’t want to let up at all.”

Ricky Carmichael, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z450, #4

1st Place – Moto 1, 2nd Place – Moto 2, 
2nd Place – Washougal Overall

1st Place -- Overall

Broc Hepler, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z250, #60

4th Place – Moto 1, DNF – Moto 2
, 14th Place – Washougal Overall

10th Place – Overall

Motocross Top 10 Finishers Overall:

  1. James Stewart, Kawasaki
  2. Ricky Carmichael, Team Makita Suzuki Racing
  3. Chad Reed, Yamaha
  4. Davi Millsaps, Honda
  5. Tim Ferry, Honda
  6. Travis Preston, Honda
  7. Kevin Windham, Honda
  8. David Vuillemin, Yamaha
  9. Daniel Sani, Honda
  10. Michael Byrne, Kawasaki

Motocross Lites Top 10 Finishers Overall:

  1. Andrew Short, Honda
  2. Josh Grant, Honda
  3. Mike Alessi, KTM
  4. Troy Adams, Kawasaki
  5. Matt Goerke, Yamaha
  6. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
  7. Nathan Ramsey, KTM
  8. Danny Smith, Honda
  9. Brett Metcalfe, Yamaha
  10. Chris Gosselaar, Kawasaki
Create New Tag
Show More Comment(s) / Leave a Comment