TORONTO (CAN) March 13, 2016 – The tenth round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, was held Saturday night at the Rogers Centre. Mother nature provided excellent weather conditions, and riders were presented with one of the more technical tracks of the season, resulting in a chaotic night of racing. Pirelli’s recently debuted SCORPION™ MX32™ PRO successfully scored its first supercross podium finish.

Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick began the opening lap of 450SX Heat 1 inside of the top-five. He battled for position throughout the six-lap qualifier, ultimately finishing in fourth place to earn his spot in the Main Event.

Justin Brayton quickly went to work aboard his BTO Sports/WPS/KTM in 450SX Semi 1, passing for second place on Lap 1 and closing in on the leader. He eventually settled for second, just ahead of fellow Pirelli racer, TPJ Racing’s Nick Schmidt in fifth place.

Kyle Cunningham powered his Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki to claim the 450SX LCQ holeshot, logging consistent laps to take the win and transfer to the Main Event.

As the gate dropped for the 450SX Class Main Event, Brayton found himself toward the front of the field, circulating the first lap in sixth place. During the early stages of the race, he was under heavy pressure from Peick as they paced each other lap after lap. Brayton finished strong to claim sixth place, while Peick crossed the line in eighth.

Schmidt started the Main Event just outside of the top-10, which put him in a good position to battle for his best finish of the season. The privateer battled hard to an impressive 16th place.

It was a last minute decision for Cunningham to lineup for the Main Event after a big crash earlier in the day, but he decided to lineup and attempt to race. The pain proved to be too much as he was forced to retire from the race early on Lap 9. He was credited with 19th place.

Matt Bisceglia started just inside the top-10 of 250SX Class Heat 1 aboard his MAD Racing/Dirt Candy Graphics/Suzuki, but rode strong the entire race to transfer directly to the Main Event via a seventh place finish.

Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki’s Jimmy Albertson qualified by crossing the checkered flag just behind Bisceglia in eighth place. TPJ Racing’s Cody Church used a third place in the 250 LCQ to make his first Main Event of the season.

In the 250SX Class Main Event, Bisceglia grabbed an excellent start using his SCORPION MX32 tires and took over the lead before the pack reached the second turn. He led the talented field of riders for several laps, eventually surrendering the lead as he battled for a podium position. The Texan fought-hard the entire 15 laps, which helped him secure third place as he rounded out the podium. He now has three career 250SX podium finishes.

A chaotic start to the race collected Albertson, leaving him near the tail end of the field when he rounded the opening lap. Despite the misfortune, he was able to salvage a 17th place finish. Church gained valuable experience in his first main event of the season, finishing 21st.

The eleventh round of Monster Energy Supercross takes place next Saturday, March 19th from Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan.

450SX Class Results

1. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki

2. Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM

3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM

4. Cole Seely, Sherman Oaks, Calif., Honda

5. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki

6. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., KTM

7. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda

8. Weston Peick, Wildomar, Calif., Yamaha

9. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Husqvarna

10. Jake Weimer, Wildomar, Calif., Suzuki

- - -

16. Nicholas Schmidt, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki

19. Kyle Cunningham, Willow Park, Texas, Suzuki

450SX Class Championship Standings

6. Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM - 156

7. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha - 142

8. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., KTM - 125 

9. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., KTM – 105 

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results

1. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM

2. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha

3. Matt Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Suzuki

4. Alex Frye, Huntingtown, Md., KTM

5. Jesse Wentland, Elk River, Minn., Honda

6. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda

7. Benny Bloss, Oak Grove, MO., Yamaha

8. Gannon Audette, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki

9. Paul Coates, Zephyrhills, Fla., Honda

10. Arnaud Tonus, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Kawasaki

- - -

17. Jimmy Albertson, Shawnee, Okla., Suzuki

21. Cody Church, Grand Junction, Colo., Kawasaki

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings

1. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha - 65

2. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM – 63

3. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda – 55

4. Martin Davalos, Clermont, Fla., Husqvarna - 45

5. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha - 45

6. Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki - 35

7. Matt Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Suzuki - 32

8. Benny Bloss, Oak Grove, MO., Yamaha - 32

9. Alex Frye, Huntingtown, Md., KTM - 31

10. Jesse Wentland, Elk River, Minn., Honda - 30

Create New Tag

NextLevelSports NextLevelSports 3/15/2016 3:35 PM

0 comments newest first

Show More Comment(s)