Loretta Lynn's 2010: Tuesday Afternoon Update

The weather is hot, the racing is fast and the action so far has been intense at the 29th Annual AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee. Temperatures pushed into the hundreds for this massive gathering of the American amateur motocross circuit, where 34 AMA amateur champions will be crowned at week’s end after three long motos in the deceivingly rough ranch track.

In the first big upset of the week, Red Bull/Honda-backed CRF150 rider Cooper Webb beat Monster Energy/Team Green-bcked Adam Cianciarulo in the Super Mini (13-16) class. Cianciarulo was leading after passing the Suzukis of Jase Owen and Dakota Alix, only to crash by himself with three laps to go and holding a 5-second lead.

Adam Cianciarulo crashed with only 3 laps to go.
Photo: Matt Ware

Cooper Webb took the moto win.

Photo: Matt Ware

After running fourth against the kids in the Pro Sport class earlier this morning, Robbie Reynard dropped the hammer on the Junior +25 class, running off with the win over Pennsylvania’s Jimmy Evans, who is a longtime Team Green rider from Pennsylvania. Earlier contender Brad Smith crashed hard coming across the finish line near the halfway mark and did not finish, but he should be back for more motos. Missouri’s Josh Mast ended up third here.

The 25+ class hits the track at Loretta Lynn's.

Photo: Matt Ware

Reynard took home a moto win in the 25+ class.

Photo: Simon Cudby

In the 250 A/Pro Sport class, Jason Anderson opened with a win on his Kawasaki. The race was held in a slight drizzle and Suzuki rider Ian Trettel was leading before he came together on the landing of the big camelback jump, taking their rivalry up another notch. Trettel ended up fifth, and Iowa’s Gavin Faith ended up second.

There was another upset of sorts as Texas Yamaha rider Mitchell Oldenburg beat Georgia’s Joey Savatgy in the Schoolboy 1 division, with Oklahoma’s Colt Nichols third.

Mitchell Oldenburg is on top of the Schoolboy 1 class.

Photo: Simon Cudby

In Sneior +45 class, DRD Yamaha’s own Doug Dubach was the runaway winner, with Barry McCarty a solid runner-up on his Kawasaki in a race that was marred by a big pileup that took out Earl May, the longtime pro from Tallahassee, Florida. And Matt Tedder, the patriarch of Tedder Racing, won the Masters’ +50 class on his Team Green Kawasaki over Craig Pickett. Finishing third was off-road legend Mark Hyde, four-time winner of the notorious Blackwater 100 GNCC.

As far as the young ones go, California’s Stilez Robertson was the 51cc (7-8) AMA 2 Stock winner, Georgia’s Gage Linville was the AMA 1 Stock winner, Florida’s Dylan Vern topped the 51cc (4-6) Stock Multi-Speed, and his neighbor Steel Gately topped the Shaft Drive class.

Illinois’ Joey Crown topped a KTM sweep of the 65cc (7-11) Modified class, with California’s Luke Purther and Florida’s Jordan Bailey rounding out the podium.

Joey Crown

Photo: Simon Cudby

Future WMX prospect Amanda Maheu raced her Yamaha to the win in the Girls (12-15) class, as the Utah resident outran Arizona’s Brandy Richards and Texas’ Kaitlyn Morrow.

Amanda Maheu

Photo: Simon Cudby


The Latest