We’ve got all the cloud cover, and have had a little taste of the rain from Hurricane Irene, but the show is on for today’s Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship action from Southwick.

The big surprise so far, Southwick local Michael Sottile took the top spot in 450 qualifying, during the first B Practice session, right before the rain hit in the morning. He did back up his first session qualifying effort with a solid time in the rougher second session. Behind him were series regulars Chad Reed (TwoTwo Motorsports Bel Ray Racing), Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki), and Justin Barcia (American Honda Racing). Series points leader, Ryan Villopoto, rounded out the top five.

Ryan Dungey.

Chad Reed.

Justin Barcia.

Honda’s good qualifying efforts extended to the 250 session as well, as Eli Tomac (GEICO Honda) joined Sottile at the top of the qualifiers. Last year’s winner, Tyla Rattray was second, and Gareth Swanepoel (DNA Shred Stix / Star Racing / Yamaha) was third. Series points leader, Dean Wilson, was fourth.

Eli Tomac.

Tyla Rattray.

The WMX is back this weekend, for a three-race run to the end of the series, and Jessica Patterson (DNA Shred Stix / Star Racing / Yamaha) and Ashley Fiolek (American Honda Racing) are both back from X Games injuries, and took the top two spots in qualifying. They were joined by Sayaka Kaneshiro, in third spot.

Jessica Patterson.

450 Qualifying
1. Michael Sottile 1:55.581
2. Chad Reed Honda 1:56.432
3. Ryan Dungey 1:56.931
4. Justin Barcia 1:57.591
5. Ryan Villopoto 1:57.609
6. Mike Alessi 1:57.611
7. Robert Marshall 1:57.924
8. Michael Picone 1:58.130
9. Kyle Regal 1:58.298
10. Brett Metcalfe 1:58.437

250 Qualifying
1. Eli Tomac 2:00.338
2. Tyla Rattray 2:00.843
3. Gareth Swanepoel 2:01.911
4. Dean Wilson 2:02.175
5. Marvin Musquin 2:02.273
6. James DeCotis 2:02.400
7. Martin Davalos 2:02.540
8. Kyle Cunningham 2:02.554
9. Blake Baggett 2:02.688
10. Broc Tickle 2:02.906

WMX Qualifying
1. Jessica Patterson 2:03.082
2. Ashley Fiolek 2:05.269
3. Sayaka Kaneshiro 2:08.300
4. Tarah Gieger 2:08.487
5. Vicki Golden 2:09.049
6. Marissa Markelon 2:09.379
7. Mariana Balbi 2:10.046
8. Sarah Whitmore 2:10.763
9. Jacqueline Strong 2:11.423
10. Lindsey Palmer 2:13.941

Check back for more later, with full results, Photo Blast, and Pit Bits.

Create New Tag
1 comment
Show More Comment(s) / Leave a Comment