TEUTSCHENTHAL (GERMANY), 29 June 2008 – An action packed weekend of Motocross racing ended today at Teutschenthal in front of 34000 spectators.
Kiwi Joshua Coppins came back to victory by finishing first in both heats and is now second in the Championship from Yamaha team mate David Philippaerts. Tyla Rattray wrapped up the overall and the red plate in the MX2 class.
Home rider Steffi Laier won this penultimate round of the Women’s World Championship from series leader Livia Lancelot and Maria Franke.

Josh Coppins finished on top of the German podium.

With his latest GP win dating back at Bulgaria 2007, Yamaha Monster Motocross’ Joshua Coppins came back to the top step of the podium by winning both heats at a hot Teutschenthal. Poleman Teka Suzuki WMX1’s Ken de Dycker took the second step of the podium ahead of Kawasaki Racing’s Tanel Leok. It was a podium comeback also for the Estonian, who took his latest rostrum finish in Namur 2007. David Philippaerts rode to fourth despite a damaged rib from the crash at the French GP; Philippaerts retained the red plate while Sebastien Pourcel rounded off the top five.

Josh Coppins took 50 important points today as he won both motos.

Nagl took the holeshot but stopped three laps later because of a technical problem; an injured Mackenzie battled it out with Coppins for the lead and eventually dropped down to 15th while Coppins stormed to victory. Boniface crashed into Pourcel who had fallen moments before his French countryman passed by; Ramon was handed the third spot and worked his way up to an eventual second from Philippaerts. De Dycker and Bill rounded off the top five as Tanel Leok settled into sixth after trying to find a way past the Swiss.

Tanel Leok rode two strong heats to finish third overall.

Coppins led the pack into turn one but let Mackenzie and Pourcel by to see them both crash throughout the following five laps; once the Kiwi was handed the lead he rode strong to secure the overall win while Ramon crashed to finish only 18th. Team mate De Dycker moved past a solid Nagl to secure the second place but he felt the pressure of an incredible Leok towards the final laps. After moving past Nagl for third, Leok chased De Dycker but eventually finished third in front of German Nagl. Pourcel took the fifth place from Philippaerts, who felt more pain in this final heat. Mackenzie was tenth.

Taking second in moto two, Ken de Dycker mounted on the second step of the rostrum.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Tyla Rattray was back to victory at Teutschenthal as he topped the podium from archrival Antonio Cairoli of Yamaha Red Bull De Carli. The latter finished level in points with the South African as Tony took victory in moto one while Rattray won moto two. CLS’ Steven Frossard was a surprising third overall at his maiden podium appearance while Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s team mates Rui Goncalves, holeshotting both heats, and Tommy Searle rounded off the top five.

Tyla Rattray celebrated the overall victory at the end of heat two.

Goncalves led the pack into turn one but Cairoli eventually moved past to pull away and win. Once he got rid of Goncalves, Rattray followed Cairoli to take the second place ahead of a very quick Searle. Starting from 25th on the grid after yesterday’s extremely hard qualifying, Searle worked his way up to third courtesy of incredible overtaking manoeuvres. Frossard was fourth after Searle moved past him and Simpson rounded off the top five ahead of Goncalves.

Tony Cairoli started the GP with victory in heat one.

Once again Goncalves took the best start to storm first into the opening corner. Leuret was a positive second after the start but eventually finished 17th as this was only his second GP of 2008 because of a shoulder injury after Valkenswaard. Rattray moved up to first and pulled away to win and take the top step of the podium while Cairoli was second. Searle was third when he crashed and handed the position to Goncalves, who finished ahead of Frossard. After an early crash, the Frenchman battled tooth and nail with Simpson to take both the fourth place and the podium. The Brit was passed also by Musquin to finish sixth while Searle was ninth.

Steven Frossard took his maiden podium today.

Being first and second in the Championship, Yamaha team mates David Philippaerts and Joshua Coppins are leading the standings from the Suzuki factory duo made of Steve Ramon and Ken de Dycker. Seb Pourcel rounds off the top five from Jonathan Barragan and Tanel Leok.

In the MX2 class the red plate goes back to Tyla Rattray, now leading from team mate Tommy Searle and Antonio Cairoli. Shaun Simpson and Ruin Goncalves round off the top five with Nicolas Aubin dropping down to sixth.

With the season having passed its mid point here at Teutschenthal, the ninth of 15 rounds will take place already next weekend at Uddevalla, Sweden. On the other hand the Women’s World Championship will be back to action at Lierop, The Netherlands, on September 7, for the fifth and final round.

The Grand Prix was broadcast live on:
EUROSPORT 2 (Pan Europe) : MX1 Race 1 at 13:00 and Race 2 N/A CET
MOTORS TV (Pan Europe): MX2 Race 1 at 12:00 and Race 2 at 15:30 (slight delayed) CET
SPORT ITALIA (Italy): MX2 Race 2 at 15:00 CET
VRT (Belgium): MX1 Race 2 at 16:00 CET
GALAXIE SPORT (Czech Republic): MX2 Race 2 at 15:00 CET
ART (Pan Middle East): MX1 Race 2 at 14:00 GMT
SPORT TV (Slovenia): MX2 Race 1 at 12:00 and Race 2 at 15:00 CET
EUROSPORT WORLD (PAN ASIA): MX1 Race 1 at 11:00 and Race 2 N/A GMT
MEDIAZONE (Worldwide): MX2 Race 1 at 12:00 and Race 2 at 15:00; MX1 Race 1 at 13:00 and Race 2 at 16:00 CET
TRANS 7 (Indonesia): MX2 Race 1 at 12:00 and Race 2 at 15:00; MX1 Race 1 at 13:00 and Race 2 at 16:00 CET

The Grand Prix will be broadcast delayed on:
EUROSPORT 2 (Pan Europe) : Monday June 30; MX2 Class at 15:00 CET
SPORTITALIA (Italy): Sunday June 29; MX2 Race 1 at 13:00, MX1 Race 1 at 23:30 and Race 2 at 00:30 CET
VRT (Belgium): Sunday June 29; MX1 Race 1 N/A CET
EUROSPORT WORLD (Pan Asia): Monday June 30; MX1 Race 1 at 03:15 and at 17:30; MX2 Class at 18:15 and at 22:30. Tuesday July 1; MX2 Class at 03:30, at 11:00 and at 00:00 GMT
AMERICA ONE SPORTS (USA): Second Tuesday after the GP; MX2 Race 2 at 21:00; MX1 Race 2 at 22:00 USA Eastern Time
GAORA: MX2 Race 1 and Race 2; MX1 Race 1 and Race 2; N/A CET

DMSB-Deutscher Motor Sport Bund e.V.
Motorsportclub Teutschenthal e.V. im ADAC
Saale Tourist

Information, photos and results are online at www.motocrossMX1.com, the official website of the FIM Motocross World Championships.

MediaZone Moto is the leading global online broadcaster of Motocross and SuperMoto events. Fans worldwide can watch the thrills from this and every race of the 2008 FIM Motocross & SuperMoto World Championships LIVE and On Demand exclusively at www.MediaZoneMoto.com.

Youthstream is the company that manages the exclusive television, marketing and promotional world wide rights of the FIM Motocross World Championship, the FIM Motocross of Nations, the FIM SuperMoto World Championship, the FIM SuperMoto of Nations, the FIM Snowcross World Championship, the UEM Motocross European Championship and the UEM SuperMoto European Championship.


Create New Tag
Show More Comment(s) / Leave a Comment