As the opening round of the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship approaches, its time to look back at the record book of the world's most competitive motocross series. The AMA Motocross Championship was established in 1972, and since then many of the best motocross racers in the history of the sport have emerged as race winners and champions.

Leading both lists is Ricky Carmichael, the 10-time champion and 102-race winner. Carmichael, who retired in 2007 to pursue an automobile racing career, captured an astonishing 76 outdoor national wins in the 450 Class, and he won every round of the series on three different occasions: 2002, 2004 and 2005.

That kind of dominance is a far cry from what the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship saw in 2009, as five brand new names were added to the series record books after gracing the top of the podium for the first time in their professional motocross careers.

In the premier 450 Class, seven different winners took the checkered flag last summer, all of them winners for the first time in the series' premier division. Chad Reed led the way with five overall wins on his way to the title and Ryan Villopoto, Mike Alessi, Ivan Tedesco and Josh Grant all added wins in the 450 Class to their career resumes, which already include 250 Class wins. Additionally, Matt Goerke and Tommy Hahn captured popular underdog victories-the first wins of their careers in any class or series.

In the 250 Class, three new faces captured their inaugural wins at an outdoor national. The deeply-talented division provided some of the most competitive racing in series history, as the hotly-contested championship went down to the final moto. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki rider Ryan Dungey emerged as champion after a bitter duel with former world champ Christophe Pourcel. Dungey's four wins matched the tally for Pourcel, but he nonetheless out-pointed the Frenchman for the title. Pourcel's Kawasaki teammate Jake Weimer captured three overall victories, and rookie phenom Justin Barcia earned the first win of his career.

With another season of the most talented field in history in store for 2010, both the 450 and 250 classes should welcome additional fresh faces atop the podium and continue the ever-growing legacy of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

After capturing four victories last season, French rider Christophe Pourcel returns in 2010 as the 250 Class championship favorite.

All Time Winner List

For more info and news about this summers 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship visit

Create New Tag
  • JW381

    5/20/2010 9:35 AM

    Yeah I was surprised to see Bailey only have 3. I guess he was most dominant in the 5 hundy class. It's funny to see the list gradually build up from 1,2,3 - 27 then spike to 76. haha

  • `ol Ger

    5/20/2010 8:52 AM

    Excellent stats Scottie

  • bt260

    5/20/2010 7:40 AM

    wow, you'd have thought that guys like O'Mara, Bailey, Bayle and Glover would have more than a few wins a piece. Those guys are the "greats"...

Show More Comment(s) / Leave a Comment