Eric_Bakker
i am new to riding and have a 01 yz125 2t
|
kb228
6/9/2019 5:35pm
Every 5-10 hours
PTECH
6/9/2019 5:47pm
I've always wondered whats the logic for changing two stroke transmission oil so frequently? I would think otherwise transmission oil would have a relatively easy life. Is it because of the clutch? Still I would think it doesn't see the kind of heat in the cylinder head of a 4 stroke?

My riding buddy changes the oil in his cr125 about every 30 hours (I know because I let him store his bike at my house) and with the hills we do he's beating the clutch to death a lot. I always give him shit about it but he just shrugs and says piss on it, lets ride! I change mine every 12-15 hours.
kb228
6/10/2019 3:53am
PTECH wrote:
I've always wondered whats the logic for changing two stroke transmission oil so frequently? I would think otherwise transmission oil would have a relatively easy life...
I've always wondered whats the logic for changing two stroke transmission oil so frequently? I would think otherwise transmission oil would have a relatively easy life. Is it because of the clutch? Still I would think it doesn't see the kind of heat in the cylinder head of a 4 stroke?

My riding buddy changes the oil in his cr125 about every 30 hours (I know because I let him store his bike at my house) and with the hills we do he's beating the clutch to death a lot. I always give him shit about it but he just shrugs and says piss on it, lets ride! I change mine every 12-15 hours.
With clutch debris and other crap in there, its peace of mind. Engine rebuilds are expensive and even more so if it blows up. Oil is cheap insurance imo

The Shop

PTECH
6/10/2019 7:59pm
PTECH wrote:
I've always wondered whats the logic for changing two stroke transmission oil so frequently? I would think otherwise transmission oil would have a relatively easy life...

kb228 wrote: