YZ 293cc Athena Kit

Related:
Create New Tag

11/21/2020 7:04 PM

Only one currently using the Athena YZ big bore 293cc kit. I'm looking into one as its a cylinder supplied big bore kit. Not interested in the ESR kit, but open to other companies supplying a cylinder.

Curious what peeps have to say about Athena kits. Are the basically worth the money?

|

11/21/2020 7:45 PM
Edited Date/Time: 11/22/2020 7:52 AM

First off - I have no experience with this Athena kit.

I think the Athena kit used to be a GYTR-certified product, however.

This came out after I had gone the Eric Gorr YZ295 "mo betta" route on my 2006 YZ250. The EG kit was a ton of hassle and nearly impossible to jet. At the point I had enough and was uninstalling it, I saw the powervalve parts were scored (it was erratic powervalve action that I had been battling with jetting). When I finally did get a hold of Eric about this later (10th+ call likely), he was extremely non-chalont about it and agreed to buy the kit back (I think I was in to it like $900 at that point). I later learned he had low-cost labor assembling these kits at times and I think I got one of those kits. I wasted soooooo much time on EG's kit and moved onto 4-strokes after that. I think EG went onto work at Millennium Technologies after that, but then something happened. EG is one of the funkiest guys I ever done business with and it ended up costing me a ton of time. Seems like a nice enough guy, just really struggled with communication and didn't empathize with the problems his (his assemblers?) craftsmanship caused.

Why share the above? If you end up wondering if the EG YZ295 kits/cylinders are good, my experience is nope, too risky - a real crapshoot. That said, I do know people who were really satisfied with their YZ295 kits. So I really think I just got a bum one. It still pains me to this day that I never got it to run right, as the 300 kit has so much potential.