Thread damage oil drain plug..

Related:
Create New Tag

1/16/2020 9:49 AM

Hello guys,

So i was changing oil today, when i was about to tighten my oil drain plug, my
torque wrench for some reason did not work. Before i new it, it was very tight! I loosened the plug and tried to torque it again, but now i can’t… I tried to take pictures of the threads… What should I do? I got plenty of time before racing, so I’m in no rush, but would really appreciate some help/advice on this screw up…

|

1/16/2020 10:17 AM

If you have plenty of time the correct way would be to disassemble the cases and either drill and tap the hole larger, or weld it up and retap it to the original size...

|

1/16/2020 10:19 AM

i am no mechanic! So that i cant do.. though about a thread repair set? But i dont know if anyone has tried that before on their case?

|

1/16/2020 10:24 AM
Edited Date/Time: 1/16/2020 10:28 AM

I’m assuming you’re talking about helicoil Thread repair kits... They still require drilling the hole and tapping it larger... They’re Also not the best idea on a non blind hole... You can try to catch many of the aluminum filings by coating the drill bit/ tap with grease and going slow... but i cannot recommend that because you will still end up with some filings inside the case...

|

1/16/2020 10:27 AM

The drilling is no problem as long as i go slow i guess.. m thinkign about using some cheap gear oil to flush awfterwards to get rid of the fillings

|

1/16/2020 10:29 AM

ezmoto wrote:

The drilling is no problem as long as i go slow i guess.. m thinkign about using some cheap gear oil to flush awfterwards to get rid of the fillings

If you’re going that route... drill and tap the hole larger don’t use a helicoil...

|

1/16/2020 10:31 AM

What do u mean by "tap the hole larger" After drilling the threads clean of course.

|

1/16/2020 10:31 AM