Opening my own shop - Help me understand Suspension

stangkag
Edited Date/Time 3/31/2022 6:04pm
I've always loved wrenching on bikes, mostly self taught with the help of YouTube and taking lots of pictures! Recently graduated an online motorcycle technician course but that's just book knowledge, no hands on unfortunately.

I've done 2 and 4 stroke top and bottom end rebuilds but I've never done suspension. Usually I ship it off or use a local shop. I'm curious who here does their own suspension? How hard was it to learn? Do you recommend a training seminar as a must like Race Tech offers?

What specialty tools are needed and where do you start with gaining base settings? Where do you purchase your shims etc.

Any and all info would be greatly welcomed!

Thanks, Kyle
|
3/23/2022 10:42pm Edited Date/Time 3/23/2022 10:44pm
I’m probably the last person that should give advice on this, but all of my “tuning knowledge” is all trial and error. I’ve done enough stack changes to my valving to sort of understand what affects what, but I’ve also been chasing settings on my ktm for the last 3 years atleast. Countless shim changes and still not quite happy, but I do understand the changes I need to make to go in the right direction. And that’s just one type of fork/shock on that model. I couldn’t imagine learning how to tune multiple bikes for multiple terrains by trial and error, so I’d recommend the racetech classes.

I order most shims from SDI, and kyb shims from technical touch. The specialty tools aren’t all that expensive, I service friends suspension and just buy the tools I need as I go.

Remember the liability involved with doing other riders suspension. Triple check any snap rings and make sure they are completely seated, and maybe even use a paint marker or tamper seal on every bolt/nut immediately after torquing. Things can get very ugly with even a single snap ring or nut not being torqued/seated properly.