How to start faster from dead engine start on KTM 350?

rob27ma
1/22/2020 7:43am
I have a stock 2019 KTM 350 and I'm looking for some tips to get the bike to start faster from dead engine starts. It starts ok, but compared to 2-strokes it's not as instant so I'm curious what other may have done to improve this. Larger battery? ECU mapping? Any other ideas?
|
kb228
1/22/2020 8:53am
Im not an expert on dead starts but i can say having a good map and tps setting will help ease of starting. Whether that gets you close to a 2 stroke i dont know. I dont know if a 4 stroke could ever start as fast as a 2 stroke due to the 4 strokes basic design.
harescrambled
Fantasy
1864th
1/22/2020 10:38am
rob27ma wrote:
I have a stock 2019 KTM 350 and I'm looking for some tips to get the bike to start faster from dead engine starts. It starts...
I have a stock 2019 KTM 350 and I'm looking for some tips to get the bike to start faster from dead engine starts. It starts ok, but compared to 2-strokes it's not as instant so I'm curious what other may have done to improve this. Larger battery? ECU mapping? Any other ideas?
Some riders bump it over with the E-start till they get to top dead center compression, like you would with a kicker. I'm sure that takes a good deal of practice to do reliably. Other than that I got nothing
Bennett59
1/22/2020 2:03pm
My 16 350 you bump the starter to get the battery and everything energized then it would fire no problem. if I just tried starting it cold it always felt like my 350 cranked longer then my buddies 450
CarlinoJoeVideo
Fantasy
2298th
1/22/2020 9:26pm
Firepower batter and ECU remap from Twisted Development. My bike will start if I look at the button.

Or if you can afford it the Vortex with maps from Twisted.

The Shop

euffeh
1/23/2020 1:21am