Helmet Painting at Home

10/16/2019 9:43am Edited Date/Time 12/1/2019 2:30am
I was going to custom paint my helmet but I’ve never done it before. I’ve been reading up and watching videos and I feel like I am up to the task. Because I am not a painter I was planning to use good ole spray paint. Anyone here with experience on this? What are the “best” brands to use for; masking tape, primer, base coat, clear coat etc..?? When prepping the helmet what grit to use?? Any tips and help appreciated!

|
Paul_Pitzonka
10/16/2019 10:39am
Wet sand with 360 or 400 grit... get some good fine line tape 1/8th or 1/16th... green 3m masking tape works great... stay away from low tack... rattle cans can be tricky... any type of fade is really hard with spray paint the paint doesn’t like to “melt” / blend like paint out of a gun... try to stick with one brand of spray paint mixing too many normally results in the paint crazing... if I do anything with spray paint I go to my local paint shop and have them mix it in a aerosol can ... same for the clear they normally have descent clear with hardener in a can... Also the spray pattern is way wider than any spray paint you’ll find at a parts store/ hardware store/ hobby shop... you shouldn’t need primer if the helmet has no chips or deep scratches just cut it and lay down your base... it’s going to take a few coats to cover the black. I’d imagine you’ll probably have a white or a silver base, depending on what colors you’re using... Best advice I can give you with paint is if you have an issue just walk away and wait until it’s dry... Spray paint can be tough to work with... have fun; be patient.
10/16/2019 1:50pm
Do you have a brand of paint you would recommend? Not exactly sure on the colors just yet. But was leaning towards a black, red, and white combo. Just simple designs with lines. I'm sure it'll be pretty basic.
duckdog77
10/16/2019 2:36pm