CR500 no Spark!!!

G-man
12/18/2019 11:30pm Edited Date/Time 1/3/2020 11:41am
So I'm starting to reassemble the 2001 CR500 project bike and I'm at the point where I could check to see if it's getting spark and it is not..

The bike has been outside under a heavy duty tarp for about 5 years I remember Don said it was getting hard to start I think he thought it was low on compression or a crank leak issue but now it might be electrical which is the worst thing I can think of cuz I'm not good at troubleshooting that stuff. 😭

Anybody have a clue?

Thanks

|
danman
12/19/2019 3:44am
Looks like a freshly painted/powdered frame. Did you make sure you filed the paint/powder off so some steel showing where the CDI mounts. It has to be grounded? If not, there is the problem.
G-man
12/19/2019 8:03am
Thanks for the reply Dan I did not remove the CDI as I masked off the electrical components.
G-man
12/19/2019 11:37am
I did some research and someone mention they painted their engine mounts and sanded them but not enough and they redid that and they got spark
so it's looking like I might have to remove my radiators and engine again ugh!
Paul_Pitzonka
12/19/2019 2:02pm
G-man wrote:
I did some research and someone mention they painted their engine mounts and sanded them but not enough and they redid that and they got spark...
I did some research and someone mention they painted their engine mounts and sanded them but not enough and they redid that and they got spark
so it's looking like I might have to remove my radiators and engine again ugh!