4 stroke break in???

JakeM250R
my bike just got a crank and complete top end in my 2015 crf250r. This is my first time having a re-built engine. (when I bought it, it had a new top end that lasted me roughly 2 years)

I've let the bike idle and get up to temperature about 5-6 times already so there's about 1hr on it. How much time should I put on the engine before I start riding more aggressively again?
Is there anything I should be looking for? (sounds, exhaust, etc)

sorry if this is a stupid question.

thanks,
|
beamer
4/5/2021 10:48am
Personally, I'll warm up the engine like you've done 3 or 4 times and ride it around the parking lot at the track 1/4 to 1/2 throttle. First time on the track I'll baby it some for 10 minutes and thats about it. Its worked for a few bikes now.......
Tracktor
4/5/2021 2:28pm
Warm it up, make sure everything sounds/looks good & rip it.....
skypig
4/5/2021 5:40pm
Controversy

What’s a good technique for the crank, might be a bad technique for the rings.
What’s good for minimum warranty claims, might be bad for performance.

This makes a lot of sense to me.
I’ve used it to good effect of a few bikes.

Like “best oil”. Best “break in” is difficult to “back up” with facts.
Likely you could “break in” two identical bikes in opposite fashions and not have a problem with either.

I’d like to get 4 new identical bikes.
Idle 2 of them for an hour. Then ride them gently for an hour.
The other 2: start them, ride away immediately after one sighting lap, ride motocross (Staying off the limiter)

Then dyno the 4 of them and see if there is a power trend. (The 2 gently run in bikes should make a little less power, and use a little more oil.

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

The Shop

chump6784
4/6/2021 3:34am
The manual for my 21 yz450 was this

Warm the bike up then ride for 20 minutes at up to 50% throttle.
Let the bike cool down
Warm the bike up again then ride up to 80% throttle for 40 minutes.