4 Stroke oil

Going to be my first 4 stroke oil and filter change soon. What is the best oil? (I know theres not a best oil but what is tried and tested) The shop i got it from recommended Motul 300V. Just curious to what others think. Im a novice rider, hardly really hit top end revs and if i do its only for half a second or so, changing oil and filter ever 3 rides just to be on the safe side.

any help is appreciated

the bike is a 2017 YZ250F.
|
Paw Paw 271
12/13/2018 4:30pm
This will open a can of worms!
You can do a search for this on this site. There must be 100 pages.

Paw Paw
kb228
12/13/2018 5:34pm
I use maxima full synthetic mx530. 10w-40.

Like pawpaw said, everyone will give an answer.
Keith72
12/13/2018 6:02pm
Lucas semi-synthetic. 10W-40

The Shop

dkurtd
12/13/2018 7:02pm
This will open a can of worms!
You can do a search for this on this site. There must be 100 pages.

Paw Paw
Yea Paw Paw this will be a ten pager in no time. It's worse then filter oil or chain lube.
Hcallz5
12/13/2018 8:57pm
Any heavier synthetic will do, duration between changes is far more important than the oil itself.
12/14/2018 1:05am
Thanks for the replies guys, so am I right in doing an oil change every 3 rides? By 3 rides in talking best part of about 5 hours in total, including warming bike up/waiting at the entrance point. Or should I do it ever 2 rides and get a cheaper oil so it sort of balances it out. Cheers guys.
kb228
12/14/2018 2:10am
I change mine every 3-5 hours or when the oil is no longer a clear amber color in the sight glass. I believe this is why i can go more than double the maintenance schedule on valve adjustments.
barnett468
12/14/2018 6:54am Edited Date/Time 12/14/2018 7:01am
kb228 wrote:
I change mine every 3-5 hours or when the oil is no longer a clear amber color in the sight glass. I believe this is why...