2020 YZ250f "Lurching" on heavy acceleration

BeachMX
2/16/2021 11:10am Edited Date/Time 3/6/2021 7:01am
Hey everyone,
I have a 2020 YZ250f with about 60 hrs on it, and it began "lurching" upon heavy acceleration this week. It seems fine in the upper revs, but the low end torque makes it "Slip-catch-slip-catch". Does this sound like a clutch issue? I replaced the clutch with a tusk comp clutch about 20 hrs ago (didn't really need it) so I am wondering if that's it. I am thinking about just ordering a OEM clutch setup with new springs, but wanted your experiences and advice first.

I also use fully synthetic yamalube oil, so could that be it? I am a vet guy, and don't got too hard on the clutch or engine.
|
GoYamaha
2/16/2021 11:44am
BeachMX wrote:
Hey everyone, I have a 2020 YZ250f with about 60 hrs on it, and it began "lurching" upon heavy acceleration this week. It seems fine in...
Hey everyone,
I have a 2020 YZ250f with about 60 hrs on it, and it began "lurching" upon heavy acceleration this week. It seems fine in the upper revs, but the low end torque makes it "Slip-catch-slip-catch". Does this sound like a clutch issue? I replaced the clutch with a tusk comp clutch about 20 hrs ago (didn't really need it) so I am wondering if that's it. I am thinking about just ordering a OEM clutch setup with new springs, but wanted your experiences and advice first.

I also use fully synthetic yamalube oil, so could that be it? I am a vet guy, and don't got too hard on the clutch or engine.
Good afternoon, I have found in my experience that Tusk clutches last a few rides at most. I am really hard on clutches period but can usually get 10-15 out of the stock clutch, however I barley got 2 out of the Tusk. Go back stock or go Hinson, Barnett, or Rekluse. That will fix your issue unless the basket is grooved.
Ryan
BeachMX
2/16/2021 11:50am
BeachMX wrote: