2020 Kx250 suspension set-up

ty151
Hey everyone, new to the forum here but I’ve browsed them for a while now.

Anyways, just bought a 2020 Kx250 in December and I’m trying to decide if I need to get my suspension set up for my weight and skill level. I’m 6’00, 195-200 pounds. Skill level would be beginner and I do mostly track riding in so cal. Hoping to do some recreational races soon.

I’ve been riding two stroke 250’s for the last ten years or so and this is my first 4 stroke MX bike. I’ve had several 450 supermotos over the years.

My question is, do I send the forks and shock off somewhere to have them re-valved for my weight (being that I’m heavier than the target 250 rider) and skill level or do I have a local shop try to dial it in for me? I’m in Ventura county, so none of the bigger, we’ll known Southern California shops are close by.

Thanks for any advice!
|
mxb2
1/15/2020 12:07pm
ty151 wrote:
Hey everyone, new to the forum here but I’ve browsed them for a while now. Anyways, just bought a 2020 Kx250 in December and I’m trying...

Anyways, just bought a 2020 Kx250 in December and I’m trying to decide if I need to get my suspension set up for my weight and skill level. I’m 6’00, 195-200 pounds. Skill level would be beginner and I do mostly track riding in so cal. Hoping to do some recreational races soon.

I’ve been riding two stroke 250’s for the last ten years or so and this is my first 4 stroke MX bike. I’ve had several 450 supermotos over the years.

My question is, do I send the forks and shock off somewhere to have them re-valved for my weight (being that I’m heavier than the target 250 rider) and skill level or do I have a local shop try to dial it in for me? I’m in Ventura county, so none of the bigger, we’ll known Southern California shops are close by.

Thanks for any advice!
Start with springs for your weight. Then maybe when it needs service, get the revalve if needed. Factory connection is awesome with 3-4 day turnarond time.
m21racing