2017 FC350 break in

Pirate421
9/8/2017 12:10pm
Looking for anyone with some first hand experience. I searched and didn't really find what I was looking for and I don't want to turn this into an oil thread. I've been riding for 20 years but this is my first new 4 stroke. Vet b speed, mx on sand tracks.

Question is, I rode the bike for the first hour at the track at about 50-70%. Shifting, engine braking, putting a load on the engine, no rev limiter...all that good stuff. Came home dumped the oil and filter and changed to 15/40 rotella. Dealer hooked me up with some synthetic motorex but said to run Dino for first 8 hrs. I'm cool with that but all they had was 10/40.

So I'm at 3 hrs now and about to change oil for the second time and am assuming break in is about complete and want to ride at 100%. Is the 10/40 or 15/40 rotella ok to run for high load sand track ( I'm not a rev limiter rider). I know the manual specs 10/50 or 10/60 and is it still too early to run the motorex? I've read a bunch of break in stuff but it's all over the place any input is appreciated.
|
Acidreamer
9/8/2017 1:10pm
I think youre going to get all over the place answers here too man. Personally when i ride with a new motor i go about 3-5 hours or 2/3 oil changes and then rip. Ive never had problems doing it that way but others are going to disagree.

I run 10/40 full synthetic (maxima or amsoil) all the time. Even on fresh rebuilds. Never had issues.

if you want to do it the "right way," follow the owners manual for your bike.
Pirate421
9/8/2017 1:17pm
Thanks for the reply. Yea I guess the manual it is. The only thing the book says is ride at no More than 70% throttle for the first three hours.
Every ktm dealer I've been too has always contradicted the manual and told me to do otherwise regarding break in and routine maintenance. But the dealers never agree with each other. I guess the one thing they all agree on is that they don't agree with the manual haha
walent215
9/8/2017 1:22pm