2 stroke tear down/rebuild

Edited Date/Time 12/11/2017 7:09pm
Hey guys I’ve got a few questions about my rear down/rebuild. This is my first time tearing down a dirtbike engine. I’m pretty experienced and have built several Yamaha Banshee engines in the past with success. So I’ve been wondering...do I need to invest in a case splitting tool? Also do I need a crank installation tool as well? The Banshee cases come apart really easily. Just a few small taps here and there with a dead blow mallet and ta-da. Now obviously the YZ is a different engine. Next question is piston. I’ve always ran forged Wiseco Pro-lite pistons and that’s my intention for my YZ so I’ve been curious on either a Pro-lite or the new single ring Racer Elite piston? Just wondering what you’ve guys have experienced with these. I’ll be sending the cylinder & head off to Powerseal USA after Christmas to have the cylinder replated and the head fixed after I let Eric Gorr work on it. The head needs to be corrected for race/pump gas mix.

|
Acidreamer
12/3/2017 8:28am
Yes on both tools. The yz wont come apart without them. Unless you want to fuck up your cases.

The piston in your pic is what i used on my yz250 and never had an issue. Solid piston.
12/3/2017 8:29am
After my first rebuild with case splitter and crank install tool, I will never do it without them.
rmoto003
12/3/2017 8:35am
definitely buy them... a set of Tusk ones will work just fine and arent too expensive.
12/3/2017 8:42am
Thanks guys that’s what I like to hear. Also anybody running the 8oz GYTR flywheel? I’ve thought about getting one of those also. I ride mx 95% of the time and I’m only 165lbs if that helps any

The Shop

omalley
12/3/2017 11:33am
rmoto003 wrote:
definitely buy them... a set of Tusk ones will work just fine and arent too expensive.
This. I bought the Tusk tools a couple years ago. I’ve done three motors so far and the tools are worth their weight in gold. Good for a few other shop uses I’ve found too.
Rockinar