19 YZ250 jetting help needed please.

Anonymous (not verified)
Edited Date/Time 10/30/2020 6:02pm
It seems to run well, but a little lean on top(says the plug). The rad valve instructions say to lean it out, but is already a little lean. Should I up the main jet? I'm new to this and trying to learn, but I'm spinning my wheels. Not really sure what to do. I have had this thing about 6-7 months and have not taken it out. I'd really appreciate any help you guys could throw my way. Thank you.

Stock jetting:
#178 main
N3EW 2nd clip
#50 pilot
Screw out approx 1 1/8th

*Running 92 non eth pump gas @ 50:1 Motul 800

She has a Fatty pipe, Turbine Core 2.1, Radvalve, twinair with cage.
|
cwtoyota
5/27/2019 1:28pm
Anonymous wrote:
It seems to run well, but a little lean on top(says the plug). The rad valve instructions say to lean it out, but is already a...
It seems to run well, but a little lean on top(says the plug). The rad valve instructions say to lean it out, but is already a little lean. Should I up the main jet? I'm new to this and trying to learn, but I'm spinning my wheels. Not really sure what to do. I have had this thing about 6-7 months and have not taken it out. I'd really appreciate any help you guys could throw my way. Thank you.

Stock jetting:
#178 main
N3EW 2nd clip
#50 pilot
Screw out approx 1 1/8th

Motocross or off-road?
I see you're in WA, so if you're riding moto, we probably go to some of the same places.

I haven't run straight pump gas in a two-stroke in over a decade and 50:1 seems way too lean for MX if you care about crankshaft longevity. If you're super slow, 40:1 is about as light as I would go on a track.

I run a 50/50 mix of Trick 114 and 92 ethanol-free, so my jetting setup will be a little lean for your fuel.
Also I run Yamalube 2R @ 32:1.

My jetting is:

M = 175
N3EW - 2
P = 45
AS = 1-3/4
PJ = Stock

I run a milled head (20.5cc with ≈0.045" squish clearance) VF3 reed and a couple of different pipes, usually the FMF Factory Fatty.