14-18 YZ250F ingesting dirt

JBecker 72
Anyone else have this problem? My buddy has a 16 and an 18 and both suck dirt past the filter. He’s taken them completely apart, greased every joint, grease around the air filter base, and is using new Twin Air filters with No Toil oil. He also uses a wash plug when cleaning. Even when he got his new 18 with everything as it came from the factory, it was eating dirt.

You can take it apart, clean everything, grease it all, put a brand new filter in, ride it once, and dirt has made it past the filter. Head scratcher for sure. Anyone found a fix?
|
JBecker 72
4/9/2019 12:01pm
Try different oil. Never thought No Toil was all that good.
I’ve been using it for about 5 years and have never had dirt make it past the filter. Plus the stock filter with whatever Yamaha puts on there was doing it too. From reading around it seems like a common complaint on this model.

Definitely couldn’t hurt to try a different oil though just to rule it out.
mxracer666
4/9/2019 12:08pm
Get a Twin Air complete filter and cage kit. I t addresses this problem. Motocross Action mag has featurured in an issue in the past year ...
JBecker 72
4/9/2019 12:24pm
mxracer666 wrote:
Get a Twin Air complete filter and cage kit. I t addresses this problem. Motocross Action mag has featurured in an issue in the past year...
Get a Twin Air complete filter and cage kit. I t addresses this problem. Motocross Action mag has featurured in an issue in the past year ...
Yeah that’s looking like the best choice so far.

The Shop

fourfourone
4/9/2019 1:59pm
I get the no toil red spray. I coat the outside and inside completely and then work in by hand as well.

If dirt it pulling through the filter usually you will see it on the back side of the filter or see it where the filter seats against the intake. Every time I change my filter the inside of the filter looks brand new and where is seals to the intake is clean.
dmm698
4/9/2019 5:49pm