Race fuel seized up my bike???

moto116
7/11/2010 8:01am Edited Date/Time 1/26/2012 4:13am
I went to start up my bike after 4 weeks of not riding (bike ran great when i shut bike off). The kickstarter wouldn't budge. Took off the head and cylinder and found deposits from the fuel at the top of the piston. There were large chunks of deposits and looked like it basically corroded the top of the piston. I believe the race fuel i use is true blue 110 octane.

Is this leaded fuel, is that why it did that to my piston? I store my bike in a really damp barn at my parents house because that is my only option, did the moisture and dampness cause this?

Please help with this problem. Has anyone ever heard of such a thing?
|
moto116
7/11/2010 8:08am
I have a crf250r
newmann
7/11/2010 8:17am
Absolutely! I'm no fuel expert, but race fuel appears to absorb(?) moisture from the air. Drain the tank into a glass jar and I'll bet you the fuel is milky looking. I have a high compression 74 CR250 vintage racer which runs on 116 octane race fuel. It has suffered the same fate, only way worse than you describe. Being it has a cast iron cylinder bore it has rusted up solid before. Cylinder wall, wrist pin and rings all developed enough rust to lock it up solid in a few weeks time.

Only way to prevent it is to run some pump fuel through before putting it away or shoot a little WD40 in to displace the moisture.
newmann
7/11/2010 8:19am
Unless you are running a high comp piston,you should not need the race fuel anyway. 110 octane in a stock engine could actually hamper performance.
moto116
7/11/2010 8:38am
thank you for your reply, i had no idea that race fuel would do that to my piston. I have a 13:5 compression (i think that's what it is, i know it's the next higher than stock, it may be 13:1 compression). What fuel do you suggest i run? Also, will ethenol hurt these high performance engines?

thanks again for you help

The Shop

sxf138
7/11/2010 11:20am