2004 RMZ 250 Problems

Tyler Sanada
Edited Date/Time 9/13/2015 11:14pm
So I have been riding my 2004 RMZ 250 since about 2007, at one point, every weekend. I have never really had problems with the bike until a couple years ago. She doesn't like to idle much at all and most times takes a lot of kicks to start it. recently adjusted the valves, did a carb cleaning and rebuild, and thought that would fix the problem. I figured the gas I had sitting in the tank and carb was clogging things up as it got old but it doesn't seem like that worked. After rebuilding and cleaning the carb tonight, we tried to start it up and it seemed like the idle was a little better but it still took a lot of kicks. at first there was unsteady idling but after adjusting the idle screw a bit it got smoother. still wont stay lit and takes a lot of kicks. Anyone know what I should do next?
|
tomm55x
1/21/2015 3:30am
Next on my list would be to perform a compression check and see if the compression is up to par.
Paw Paw 271
1/21/2015 4:08am
Have you adjusted the fuel screw?
Have you adjusted the float height?
Have the valves been replaced?

Paw Paw
mxrose3
Fantasy
1046th
1/21/2015 1:08pm Edited Date/Time 1/21/2015 1:26pm
So I have been riding my 2004 RMZ 250 since about 2007, at one point, every weekend. I have never really had problems with the bike...