Which Bike for Vintage AHRMA CC?

Related:
Create New Tag

7/24/2018 12:34 PM

So I'm getting the itch to race and join my father in racing the AHRMA cross country series. Should I:

Use the 1987 XT350, very noncompetitive bike, I already own and somewhat love, or sell the XT and get a 1979 KLX250 that, while still not all that competitive, appeals very strongly to me?

Which Bike?

View Results

|

I can do anything, I'm an expert.
MotoTribology.com - Motorcycle Lubrication Education

7/24/2018 2:12 PM

I'll just state that the KLX250 is a very cool looking bike.

|

7/24/2018 3:30 PM

I’m pretty sure AHRMA CC eligibility ends at ‘83 just like MX so I think your choice is made for you.

|

“Anything that gets your blood pumping is probably worth doing”

Hunter S Thompson

7/24/2018 8:11 PM

Either would be a hoot. Kinda depends on what class you want to ride... The Kawasaki is by far the coolest though.

|

7/25/2018 6:34 AM

newmann wrote:

I'll just state that the KLX250 is a very cool looking bike.

That's one a few reasons why it appeals to me.

I also kinda like the fact its a little more rare than some others.

My father rides an IT200 which is awesome but he is actually competitive.

I was never much of a racer as a kid, but I want to give it another shot and mostly just have some fun with it.

|

7/25/2018 6:35 AM

Kaaden'sTheory wrote:

I’m pretty sure AHRMA CC eligibility ends at ‘83 just like MX so I think your choice is made for you.

I could enter in the pre-modern class with the XT. XT350's from '85-'00 are acceptable as pre-modern entries due to the disc front brake, and monoshock.

|

7/25/2018 6:38 AM

Rocky739 wrote:

Either would be a hoot. Kinda depends on what class you want to ride... The Kawasaki is by far the coolest though.

I totally agree. I think my real problem is that I have a real emotional attachment to the XT that is unwarranted. I've had it for 10 years now and I am going to miss seeing it in the garage.