Value of vintage bikes

Pirate421
Edited Date/Time 3/26/2018 10:13am
Not sure if this has ever been brought up but I have been riding and racing for the last 20 years. I’m about to turn 30 and just restored my 89 CR250 (have a build thread or two here on it). I know it’s not quite a “vintage” bike but I think it’s cool and it’s almost 30 as well. When I show my buddies my bike and all the work I’ve done to it the only thing they seem to comment on is “ how much is it worth?” They all seem to think classic bikes as classic cars and I try to explain they they are and they aren’t. I also can’t really explain that the money I have in it could not be recouped, but I did it because I love motorcycles and I love that bike.

I guess the short question is for the people who have been involved in vintage bikes, do the values of these bikes go up and would an 89 CR250 and the like be considered the new wave of up and coming vintage models? Surely the twin shocks and pure vintage bikes will get to a point where the owners won’t race them as parts will become so scarce and they will maybe want to preserve them. Again I’m not about to sell my bike and am not in this for the money, if I was I’d be the worst businessman in history! Just curious. And do any of you think that the bikes you have are worth more than you’ve got in them or less?
|
Rocky739
3/14/2018 7:05pm
I think your right. As people age they pine for nostalgia of the good ole days and the bikes they grew up watching and racing as teens.
I’m 45 and although I love anything two wheels, but the bikes from my youth and racing years, 1980-1999... are the ones I like.
As my / our demographic matures they are going to want these bikes.
The older bikes, 60s-70s are probably going to start going down in value while the newer bikes will go up.
My dad was a ford model A guy. Those cars peaked in value then dropped as the enthusiasts aged and passed on. I see no reason why bikes won’t follow the same pattern.