Finally got the CR 250 on a track

wexy21
Edited Date/Time 11/12/2015 7:31pm
Today I wanted to break in my 125's new cylinder and also take my roommate riding. This was his first time ever on a bike so I thought I'd just let him ride the KTM. He ended up doing pretty good and I wanted to rip on the little bike a bit so we switched. The old Honda did great for it's first time on a MX track. The suspension surprised me, it was great on the big jumps and it cornered ok. After switching to the KTM though, that bike felt like a Ferrari around the corners!

It's strange, supposedly these bikes weigh the same (well, within 1lb, 205 and 206), but it was clear that the 125 was lighter around the track. I'm glad I am choosing to keep the Honda though! It was just so much fun riding it today. Hopefully I can work my way back into shape and race a little vintage around here. It's pretty big in Missouri.

Starting out today:

Here's a few pics of today...Man, I've been riding for 30 years and can count the number of photos there are of me Sad This is Adam, not me here:

Fresh rebuild, top and bottom.

Custom leg kickstand Smile

Any other amputee riders here?

Oh! On another note...The fork slides I fab'd up worked out great!
|
nicko-31
11/10/2015 3:50pm
I'm not an amputee but I remember riding a 1989 CR 250 and it was an absolute BEAST. It looks like yours is a 1988 ?? Really like those late 80's CR.
wexy21
11/10/2015 3:58pm
I raced an 89 CR 125 which was my favorite bike even though I had a hard time keeping up with the newer bikes on the straights. I made up for it in the turns though.

This is an 88 which I bought from a lady who had it in storage since 89. This was the first time it's ever been on a track and did really well. I love this thing!

The Shop

mark_swart
11/11/2015 10:43am
Wexy21, props to you for being an amputee and not giving up the hobby you love!!

So how does upshifting work, do you have to take your leg off use your heel?
wexy21
11/11/2015 12:14pm