'83 CR125

GoMoto
Edited Date/Time 7/2/2018 6:09am

Last fall I picked up a decent resto project CR. I've been racing vintage HS for the past three years or so and thought I'd give vintage MX a go, so this is going to be a racer not a showpiece. All of the important stuff is there and it doesn't look to have been molested too badly through the years:

Over the winter I tore it down and tossed most of the wear items. That will all get replaced. I've got the pipe (trashed) and silencer (good) and will need to source a few harder to find items (intake boot, hoses) and will probably send the forks and shock to Race Tech for rebuild. Anybody have a line on radiator restoration? These are actually pretty straight and don't leak. I've heard bad things about the Chinese reproduction radiators. I've restored a half dozen vintage Japanese bikes and this is my first venture into the modern world of water cooling...any advice would be appreciated.

Oh, and yes it had a fair amount of corrosion in the clutch cover, but over the winter I started cleaning that up with some JB Weld, a dremel and a fair amount of patience:

I am more concerned with corrosion/wear on the mating surfaces between the clutch cover and the case, enough so that I went ahead and ordered an aluminum repro clutch cover from Australia last week. Hope it's got good fit and finish.

|
GoMoto
7/2/2015 2:25pm
New clutch cover arrived today.

As advertised, cast finish and seems to fit cleanly to the case. Fittings and bungs are all threaded right and look clean. I haven't swapped the dowels over and I have yet to get a gasket set, so...so far so good.

Now I've got to deal with the mechanical seal. Am I right in assuming the sheet metal cup still set in my old cover is part of the mechanical seal?

If so, cool. Looks like the seal and bearing are still available.
newmann
7/2/2015 3:26pm
Nicely done! Loving the repro cover and loving the fact that people are putting forth the effort for such things!
Honda88L