1986 Honda CR250R resto...help with a few parts?

7/27/2015 12:31pm Edited Date/Time 8/31/2015 12:16pm
Hey guys,

Ok.....I finally made the decision and dove in. At 48 yrs old, I have been riding and racing motocross for 40 yrs, and even though my body (and wife) keep telling me to give it up, I finally caved and agreed to sell my 2012 CRF-250R and go vintage! Going to the Vintage Days at Mid-Ohio a few weeks ago definitely helped push me over the edge! So, this weekend, I purchased a really beautifully 98% restored '86 Honda CR250R that just needs a few final things to make it right. The first thing I am in urgent need of is the air filter cage (or base as Honda calls it). The original Honda part # is 17212-KS6-010 and is not available anymore. If anybody out there happens to have a '86 CR250 parts bike and has a filter cage (or complete airbox with the cage and wing nut) for sale, please let me know. I also would love to have an original '86 silencer, as this bike has a new DG unit on it, but prefer the stocker. Please let me know if you can help me out. Looking forward to the later years of this sick addiction. Thanks!
|
evomx244
7/28/2015 4:32am
Welcome to the club, Mid-Ohio was a blast this year. I believe there is a Mid-West series run by Woody Graves in your area.
Honda88L
7/28/2015 5:29am
evomx244 wrote:
Welcome to the club, Mid-Ohio was a blast this year. I believe there is a Mid-West series run by Woody Graves in your area.
You're getting advice from a hard core VMX guy here...... I will throw in a few things.

1.Partzilla - http://www.partzilla.com/ go to OEM parts and find the part you are looking for. Click on the red part# and it shows you what bikes share the part. In this case the 125, 250, and 500 in 86 all have the same filter cage but it does appear no other years have the same part. It works for obsolete parts too and if they show a price they generally do have the part. I hate websites that let you order and then email saying they don't have it.