1976 Pursang 370 resto

Murph
Edited Date/Time 9/4/2013 11:37am
I bought a 1976 370 Pursang back in April, in need of a tidy up but a solid bike, or so I thought. Here is a pic of the bike as I bought it. Went to view and it started up first kick. Excellent thought I Woohoo

Hoping all that would be required would be a new set of rings and some tyres Wink , I took the top end down to find a knackered piston and bottom end. So a full rebuild of the engine was required.

As I went through the bike it was obvious it needed a full rebuild, so that is what I have been doing for the last 4 months or so. Here is the progress so far.

Engine rebuilt, new piston, rod kit all bearings and seals. Wheels fully rebuilt, rear hub relined, stainless spokes, new Pirelli tyres. Frame resprayed original silver. Brand new saddle sourced from Espana. New steering head bearings and swinging arm bushes. Tank and side panels have been resprayed but they are safely away at my dads house right now. Forks were the best bit of the bike and only needed seals. New Circle F pipe to replace leaky battered original.

Here is how it is looking so far:

I hope you all like it, and I will post a few more pics as the project goes on.
|
Murph
7/28/2013 2:08pm
Not sure, I will take your word for it Smile

I was going to replace them with Renthals, but then had a change of heart as the bend is actually pretty good and they suit the bike very well. I did trim a little off each end because I found them too wide, but otherwise I like them. Will do a bit more work on the bike this week and get the pics posted.
Murph
8/12/2013 11:36pm
Been away for a week, but got a bit more done in the last couple of days. Engine in, just need to fit head when I get it back from vapour blasting. Carb and airbox fitted, coil wired up (and I have sparks Smile ), just need to get the front end on and then the tank and sidepanels and she should be ready to start up.

PN27416
8/13/2013 3:49am