Student loans

Timo_2824
Edited Date/Time 3/9/2019 8:55am
The thread in Moto asking about trade jobs made me want to share this. I'm getting them paid off slowly, but I strongly suggest that anyone thinking of student loans to pay for college to just let this sink in:

I did graduated payments, start small and pay more as your income grows. Started out about $250 per month, now it's up to $675. I had $45,000 and my wife had $42,000. Between the two of us we are paying ~$1100.00 per month for student loans. Our house payment is $985.00... we both went to school about the same time, so we are both averaging 6.2% interest rate. Yes we've both applied for multiple refinancers, the interest rate is the same or higher. The thing that really drives me crazy is that neither of us is using our degree.

I'm a journeyman HVAC tech specializing in Building Automation. I could have just joined up as an apprentice and gotten paid to learn.
|
2/11/2019 9:41am
My wife went for her master's and doesn't really use it. Shes in the same boat. I know this is easy for me to say, but is there any way to put more towards principal each month? Or if you could lengthen the loan so the minimum payment would be smaller and then you could put more towards principal.
dmm698
2/11/2019 1:13pm Edited Date/Time 2/11/2019 1:16pm
I guess i'm on the opposite side of this -

I spent 2.5 years in community college, working full time while doing so, accruing no debt. Finished my bachelors in Mechanical engineering in 3 semesters at a 4 year university.

Had multiple job offers before graduating, and took the one that suited me best. The graduated payment plan from fedloans is atrocious, but atleast they're upfront if you want to know the truth in how much you'll actually pay as opposed to paying a fixed payment over a 10 year term. 6+ % must of been unsubsidized.Total amount borrowed right around 1/3rd of what you or your wife borrowed.