Physics with Falcon (and others)

Falcon
Fantasy
798th
Edited Date/Time 11/3/2022 9:41pm
OK guys, I've been thinking of starting a physics thread, because I love the subject and I'm somewhat knowledgeable in the basics. However, even though I've had a few college courses, I'm no expert. Therefore, I'd love it if you guys who know more than I do can help out in this thread. Please post up!

My first entry will be to criticize a movie I saw once: Speed 2. Their first mistake was not to get Keanu back for the sequel; the second was to make that steaming pile of drivel in the first place.

The third is a gigantic error in their understanding of physics. In the movie, a cruise ship is hijacked, and the bridge is locked with the steering pointing at a port of call. The engines are all-ahead full, and the massive ship plows into the beach, then continues up the surface of the land for quite some time. All this is plausible, and in fact something with that much mass would, in fact, continue moving for a long time.
Where the mistake is made was obviously for effect, but it actually makes me angry: the main character is standing in some anteroom when the impact with the beach occurs. The director used all kinds of multiple-angle shots of the guy flailing through the air, crashing through windows, rolling across the deck, crashing through more windows and doors, then finally coming to rest after grabbing onto a handrail at the very front of the ship. Apparently, they wanted to illustrate how much mass and power are brought to bear when a ship runs aground.