Need Some Video Editing Advice

BobPA
2/5/2019 6:49pm
So to start things off, I am a complete rookie when it comes to editing video. I played with it 15 years ago as a kid on a BMX bike....But the times have changed. I recently picked up a Hero 7 Black, and I am leaning towards a Sony a6000 mirrorless camera. It seems to fit the bill for ease of use and relative affordability.

I shot some quick footage around my house and loaded it into Davinci Resolve 15 (free version) and wanted to just get into the swing of the software....See if i actually enjoy it. Turns out, my current laptop does not have the stones to run the program without massive glitching. My girlfriend is in school and we share a single laptop. I figure I can upgrade and she can use the current setup, as it is still a nice machine.

So my main question is, what PC/laptop do you guys use? I have looked into the minimum requirements for the program and have found a few machine that should would. Again, I will admit that I know very little about hardware for computers. I understand RAM and memory, and I am leaning towards something in the i7 processor range...But the options are nearly endless. Any help to get started would be great. I do not want to spend a metric fortune as it might just be a phase....But it has been something I have wanted to try for a long time.
|
akillerwombat
2/5/2019 7:01pm Edited Date/Time 2/5/2019 7:02pm
I know I'm a "liberal hollywood guy" so it's obvious I'm going to recommend Apple, but everyone I know uses one because they're that good.

I've been using them for production for 10 years now; editing, color work, vfx, animating, etc. and I've yet to have an issue that wasn't software based (Adobe is a bitch sometimes).

Worth spending the extra couple bucks for. Get a bare bones one and order some ram for cheap at www.crucial.com
BobPA
2/5/2019 7:07pm