Little help ID'ing NorCal snake

NorCal 50+
Edited Date/Time 9/30/2018 11:20pm
I was just sitting at a park bench with my 4 year old in a park near my house and looked down and this dude was nearly at our feet. She had just walked right over that spot and how she didn't step on it, I don't know. I am googling around. I jumped up and he just slithered off. Probably 2.5 feet long. [Edit- damn if it doesn't look like a rattler- but no rattle!]
|
borg
9/22/2018 5:31pm
Looks like a typical gopher snake to me. Unless it has a triangular shaped head that is.
borg
9/22/2018 5:33pm
They are pretty bold and will even shake their tail like a rattler. Pretty much harmless though, unless you're a rat or a gopher. They get huge down here.
NorCal 50+
9/22/2018 5:44pm Edited Date/Time 9/22/2018 5:45pm
Yep- finally found the Pacific gopher snake. Same triple marking down the side.
I'm new to the West and learning about western beasts. In Virginia it was black snakes everywhere. We dug a six foot snake skin out of our attic and I used to hear them slithering in the walls when I was sitting in my room as a kid.

The Shop

Nighttrain
9/22/2018 6:47pm
NorCal 50+ wrote:
Yep- finally found the Pacific gopher snake. Same triple marking down the side. I'm new to the West and learning about western beasts. In Virginia it...
Yep- finally found the Pacific gopher snake. Same triple marking down the side.
I'm new to the West and learning about western beasts. In Virginia it was black snakes everywhere. We dug a six foot snake skin out of our attic and I used to hear them slithering in the walls when I was sitting in my room as a kid.

Hah! That must have been a creepy sound? Were the snakes there to eat mice in the attic? I live on a salt marsh where there’s an abundance of snakes and rats/mice. I’d rather have snakes in my walls than rodents with their human communicable diseases.
NorCal 50+
9/22/2018 9:23pm
Nightrain- varmints! Come to think of it, I never saw a mouse in that house!