How to secure money to startup a business?

mxtech1
5/25/2018 5:56am Edited Date/Time 6/11/2018 5:55am
I have been working as a manufacturing engineer for almost 10 years now. Started out in a small fabrication shop that "did it all" and had the opportunity to learn aspects of sheet metal fab, welding, machining, paint (powder/wet), and light assembly. I have spent the last 6 years working for a premier Ag manufacturer. Spent several years as a lead for sheet metal fab business unit, managed multiple multi-million dollar projects, and really honed my craft. I recently switched roles and now serve as a lead engineer for combine header assembly where I have learned a ton about assembly processes, line balances, ergonomics, torque tooling, etc. The company I work for is World Class rated and I really feel like I have learned the correct ways to run a business.

Anyways - the midwest is currently facing supply base challenges. It is a daily struggle for our part suppliers to meet our demands, further challenged by increasing forecasts for these markets.

I feel that I have the knowledge and experience to start my own business. I would like to get back into fabrication and have really been thinking hard the last few years about starting a shop. I would like to buy a few lasers, press brakes, punch press, shears, etc to make sheet metal/plate component parts. I also think it would be wise to have a few welders to take on weldment jobs and of course a few machinists and machines would also be needed. Eventually expanding into a paint line and possible light assembly work of sub-assemblies.

I have been doing some rough calculation and I feel that I need +$500K to get a decent shop up and running. Most of this cost will immediately be sunk into machine tools and equipment. I would likely lease a building in the early years.