How many of you rent?

FIREfish148
Edited Date/Time 9/20/2014 9:30am
I've been renting for a few years now and been trying to get into a house w/ minimal money down. Which I found pretty much impossible to do since I live in such a high cost area and pay so much for rent. Right now I pay $1,112.00 for a 1 bedroom apartment in a fairly nice complex and I just got a letter in the mail saying they are going to raise my rent to $1,208.00. Which makes it pretty much impossible for me to save on a regular pay check.

Anyone have some advice for getting into a house? All the banks care about is how much money you have down. Shits infuriating...
|
Huevos
9/16/2014 8:30pm
Where I live it's cheaper to buy than rent. Rent for a POS 650 sq. ft. Apartment is over $1000 a month while my wife and I are paying about that same amount on mortgage for a newly remodeled 1350 sq ft house. We payed about 12 grand down and made some serious sacrifices to do so but it was so worth it.
Huevos
9/16/2014 8:31pm
I believe there are some government programs that help with that sort if thing though.
APLMAN99
9/16/2014 8:39pm
I've been renting for a few years now and been trying to get into a house w/ minimal money down. Which I found pretty much impossible...
I've been renting for a few years now and been trying to get into a house w/ minimal money down. Which I found pretty much impossible to do since I live in such a high cost area and pay so much for rent. Right now I pay $1,112.00 for a 1 bedroom apartment in a fairly nice complex and I just got a letter in the mail saying they are going to raise my rent to $1,208.00. Which makes it pretty much impossible for me to save on a regular pay check.

Anyone have some advice for getting into a house? All the banks care about is how much money you have down. Shits infuriating...
Buy in Kent/Auburn and bus to work! Or get into a condo up near Lynnwood, then rent it out when it's time to upgrade.
Rooster
9/16/2014 9:27pm
Start with a condo.