Getting into golf

xrmark
26 here, been to the range a few times, decided to get into it. Buying a set of clubs today off Offer up and a putting mat for in the house when I’m bored. Never played a game of golf in my life haha other than mini golf. Any tips and recommendations? If anyone is in the Elsinore area and plays feel free to hit me up!
|
peelout
3/8/2021 12:22pm Edited Date/Time 3/8/2021 12:26pm
my only advice is one beer per hole if i'm playing 18, ramp it up to 2 for 9 holes

grip and rip my friend

on a serious note, after a full year of playing i would take your clubs to a club fitment shop and have them analyze your clubs for your swing. i've been playing for about 15 years now and finally spent the $150 to find out my clubs are about 3/4" too long for me and the club head lie-angle was completely off. i ended up trading the old girls in and getting new clubs, but it's a night and day difference having equipment set up for you. it's like taking a bone stock bike with stock suspension settings to the track and expecting to be as fast as on a bike with a full suspension setup to your body and riding style.

DoctorJD
3/8/2021 12:43pm
I was a golf addict for about 10 years straight. Played three times a week, and when I wasn't at the course I was chipping balls around my yard. Never was more than a (unofficial) 15-18 handicap. I hung it up and quit cold turkey about 20 years ago. I drank too much when I played, and it killed my back. I quit golf and took up mountain biking. One of the best decisions I've ever made. But you have fun with it.

If I had any advice it would be to get a professional (instructor) involved before you pick up too many bad habits. Not saying to have an instructor on retainer for the entirety of your golf career, but at least let someone analyze your swing.