Getting The Garden Ready

IWreckALot
2/20/2017 8:29am Edited Date/Time 10/24/2017 7:53pm
This is my first year to have a garden on my own. My dad had a garden when I was younger, and I helped with that, but never had one on my own. I built the frame and filled it with 2 yards of lava sand/ compost mix on Saturday. Last night I planted 15 tomatoes (4 or 5 different strains) and 4 bell pepper plants. I have room for 58 more plants unless I decide to make more.

The rest of those 58 spots will be filled with cilantro, spinach, green beans, jalapenos, okra, cucumbers, garlic, onion, maybe some more bell peppers, squash and zucchini, and potatoes, and some strawberries.

I took a small gamble planting some this early. If we have another freeze, it'll be $30 down the drain but I wanted to get it going.

|
JAFO92
2/20/2017 8:51am
Very cool, love the raised bed setup, you wont hafta worry about rot if it rains too much.

We put in our potatoes yesterday because that big rain was coming and the dirt was finally right.

Keep us posted how that new setup goes, looks very nice.
kzizok
Fantasy
1859th
2/20/2017 8:53am
Ive done those too. They work well. I assume you hit summer time extra early, like we did too and can get planting earlier.
MR. X
2/20/2017 8:54am
This is usually the time of year I start coming up with excuses not to do a garden. I really do enjoy when the garden is fully stocked and you can go out back and get stuff to make dinner with.
2/20/2017 9:02am
Looks good. Raised beds are nice, but they dry out very quickly in the heat of summer. Keep it moist and watch out for rabbits!

The Shop

borg
2/20/2017 9:14am
Are those tomatoes in that center section? Not sure about the varieties you picked but I have to space mine at 3' on center or they smother themselves. I usually grow indeterminates and they get huge. I noticed the 6' x 6' mesh up against the fence. That's what I use for the cages.
IWreckALot
2/20/2017 10:05am
JAFO92 wrote: