Counter steering

sumdood
Fantasy
1282nd
Edited Date/Time 4/27/2017 6:06pm
You guys familiar with this ? The street bike guys will be. Here's a quick history, I've been riding dirt bikes for 48 years, my wife has been riding dirt bikes for 25 years. We recently decided to get a couple dual sports so we signed up for a rider training course. It was 2 days and when you're done you don't have to take the on the bike test at the dmv, and you get a discount on your insurance. Plus I didn't want the dmv poking their snouts too far into the plated wr450 I bought that was grandfathered in before the rules tightened up. Anyway during this class they teach you how to turn, fair enough. But here's where it gets weird. This is straight out of the motorcycle handbook.
"To turn, the motorcycle must lean. To lean the motorcycle, press on the handlegrip in the direction of the turn. Press left-lean left-go left". Press right-lean right-go right". My first thought was that's bass ackwards, to turn left you turn the bars left, which is the total opposite of what they say. So we go out to practice turns, first time I tried it the bike flopped over and scraped the peg, 2nd attempt netted the same result, the bike did indeed flop over quicker than if you made a "Normal" turn. So I understood the theory. Since street bikes are heavier and carry a lot more momentum by initially turning the "wrong" way, it actually forces the bike to lean over quicker than a "regular" turn. Ok seemed confusing at first but I get it. However....lol, I've been trying to explain it to my wife, push the left handlebar ? then you're turning right ? Well yeah...but .... Laughing
|
kzizok
Fantasy
2034th
4/26/2017 6:50pm Edited Date/Time 4/26/2017 6:56pm
"To turn, the motorcycle must lean. To lean the motorcycle, press on the handlegrip in the direction of the turn. Press left-lean left-go left". Press right-lean right-go right".