Cordless Home Tool Preference

flarider
Edited Date/Time 4/16/2022 7:25am
If you had to start over, and you're willing to pay for quality, what manufacturer of cordless electric tools would you buy?

Say a circ saw, sander, impact drill, etc...
|
early
Fantasy
2231st
3/3/2022 8:40am
I'm not a professional but here's experience

I've had a 7 piece makita set that I bought in '08, all the tools still work great, I keep them running with cheap Amazon batteries which are fine for my purposes.

My father in law has some Dewalt tools I've used and I do not have a high opinion of them at all.

My brother has some Milwaukee tools and if I was buying again that's what I would get.
Elliot
3/3/2022 8:55am
I use Dewalt as overall I think they have the most extensive range of power tools which covers DIY/construction, garden tools and automotive. Their cordless tire inflator rocks. I run the lot on 4 x 5AH batteries which have never let me down.
TheGetFresh
Fantasy
2562nd
3/3/2022 9:26am
I mostly use power tools for mechanical work and own Milwaukee everything because I have the batteries. I have about 75% mechanical tools and 25% carpentry/wood specific tools. We’re it the other way around, I’d go makita. Their tools don’t have the brute force of the Milwaukee, but there are some small improvements here and there that edge the Japanese company ahead. The makita drill chucks are made in Japan by Seiko (Milwaukee are jacob’s chucks outsourced to China) and they last longer and are more true in their runout. I think makita saws are more comfortable and easier to use than Milwaukee, and those are valuable attributes when you’re doing precision cuts and finish work.