coming back from broken collarbone

Edited Date/Time 6/20/2014 5:11am
Seeing that its one of the most common mx injuries. I am curious how long it took till you were back on the bike and how was your stregnth and flexibility. I broke mine in three pieces at the end of may and had to have it plated and and screwed together. I am three weeks out of surgery and its pretty much better besides all the muscles have no stamina. One other thing I have most of my range of motion just it gets tight when i lift my arm over my head. Does that stiffness ever go away or is that the plate restricting it. I am fairly new to moto so this is my first major injury but i am dying to get back on the bike but nervous at the same time. For the people who have had serious injuries do you ever get passed it and forget about it on the bike or does it sit in the back of your mind the whole time.

I know that the dr says 3 months just curious how some of your situations went
|
JeepnMike
6/19/2014 7:57am
When you are on the bike, you won't notice it (weakness and stiffness) nearly as much as you do when you are sitting in a chair or whatever thinking about it. IMO and from my experience, coming back from a collarbone is one of the less frustrating injuries to come back from, your stamina and mobility will come back quick. Legs and arms are a whole different story.

Good luck!
vet323
6/19/2014 7:58am
I've broken my right one three times. Never had plates or screws, I was always on the bike within 6 weeks.

BTW-I know you are fairly new to MX, but for what it's worth- a broken collarbone isn't a "major" injury (well, it isn't if you are as untalented as I am, anyway).
Markee
Fantasy
1941st
6/19/2014 8:00am
I've had 3 broken clavicle breaks on the same one. I don't think about it, its healed and stronger. Mine did not need surgery but one was almost a compound fracture. With most injuries from my experience, time is the best healer. Stretch and strengthen will be your best end result.