bottom end

Edited Date/Time 9/5/2013 6:20pm
putting a new pin and bearing on a crank for a 04 yz 125 and i cant find the gasket for the middle of the engine. between the two big cases.

question 1: is there something i should use other then a normal gasket?

question 2: should i use grease when pressing the new pin and bearing in?

any other tips would be helpful. this is my first time working in the bottom end of an engine

thanks
|
lostboy819
Fantasy
1442nd
9/3/2013 12:37pm Edited Date/Time 9/3/2013 12:39pm
There is no gasket, you use yamabond.
Don't use grease.
If you freeze the complete crank after its trued it will be easier to press the cases together
Press the cases together slowly and spin the transmissions shafts as you put them together
BAMX
9/3/2013 12:44pm
Use Yamabond or Threebond 1211

The Shop

BAMX
9/3/2013 1:37pm
RM250racer wrote:
what about hondabond?
I am not familiar with Hondabond but Yamabond and 1211 work great. 1104 works pretty good as well. If i were doing it, i would buy a tube of 1211. I have even smeared a thin coat on old gaskets in a pinch and never had an issue with leaking. It seals oil, gas, antifreeze etc.
BAD10
9/3/2013 1:41pm
I hope you are planning on having the crank and rod assembly balanced and trued after installing the new pin.
9/3/2013 2:08pm
BAD10 wrote:
I hope you are planning on having the crank and rod assembly balanced and trued after installing the new pin.
yea i figured that was necessary. would any shop be able to do it for me?
hillbilly
9/3/2013 2:38pm
BAD10 wrote:
RM250racer wrote:
yea i figured that was necessary. would any shop be able to do it for me?
Not correct,lots of guys cla in m to be a good crank man but they are few.

Watch them and read the run out on the gauge yourself.

You should put crank bearings in also.

If you put the bearings in the freezer the day before or several hours before needed they slip right in the case if the case is
Warmed till you can not lay your hand on it long.