ask ping question today

Related:
Create New Tag

9/15/2017 10:31 PM
Edited Date/Time: 9/15/2017 10:33 PM

so in the first question from Ask Ping today he makes a side comment when answering "like greasing the rim of your air filter before you install it - not relevant anymore". My question is when did this become irrelevant and why wouldn't you still do this today?? Every time I change filters I soak it with filter oil then use waterproof grease on the rim before installing to create a better seal for keeping dirt out of the air boot. Been taught that way from pops when I started riding 25 yrs ago. Never see a speck of dirt in the boot even in the wettest/muddiest/sandiest conditions. Can't see how this technique has been outdated or rendered unnecessary, filter technology has not exactly advanced much lol

|

9/15/2017 10:55 PM

Keeping doing it then! Don't let vital tell you it's wrong

|

9/15/2017 11:15 PM

as hes said before he doesnt even clean his air filters he just chucks em and opens up a new one. he also never works on his bike, not that he wont or cant but he just doesnt need to cause people take care of him

|

9/16/2017 12:10 AM

Gotcha. I shoulda realized it was just sarcastic banter from him. Guess I read too much into it lol.

|

9/16/2017 12:13 AM

This isn't really rocket science. Take a look at how tight the filter cage fits to the air boot with the filter off. I haven't seen a modern bike have any gaps there at all so there is no need to grease it. Especially if you have already oiled the filter including the lip/rim. just wasting your time...

|

9/16/2017 12:15 AM

Prob doesn't even pay attention to the damn sprocket bolts. To busy gazing through his weedmaps app between motoswhistling laughing

|

9/16/2017 12:52 AM
Edited Date/Time: 9/16/2017 12:56 AM

Flip109 wrote:

Prob doesn't even pay attention to the damn sprocket bolts. To busy gazing through his weedmaps app between motoswhistling laughing